clear space clear space clear space white space
 r c h i v e s   o f   M a r y l a n d   O n l i n e

PLEASE NOTE: The searchable text below was computer generated and may contain typographical errors. Numerical typos are particularly troubling. Click “View pdf” to see the original document.

  Maryland State Archives | Index | Help | Search
search for:
clear space
white space
Maryland Manual, 1994-95
Volume 186, Page 47   View pdf image
 Jump to  
clear space clear space clear space white space

Maryland Manual 1994-1995

The Committee is composed of nine senators
and nine delegates, who are appointed bv the Sen-
ate President and the House Speaker at the begin-
ning of each regular session. Members serve for one
year. The chairperson and vice-chairperson alter-
nate each year between the two houses. Repre-
sentation of each political party is approximately in
the same proportion as its membership in each
house (Code State Government Article, secs. 2-501
through 2-507).


Julian L. Lapides, Senate Chairperson
Richard N. Dixon, House Chairperson

Staff: Dana A. Thompson (410) 841-3761


Annual Report to General Assembly.

The Joint Budget and Audit Committee was
established in 1968 (Chapter 456, Acts of 1968).
The Committee studies and reviews State fiscal
policies and post audits, and other matters relating
to fiscal affairs. From the Executive Department and
the Department of Fiscal Services it receives annual
reports on how long-term State debt affects the
State's financial condition.
Annually, the Committee reviews federally
funded projects requiring future State funds and
nonbudgeted funds used for capital programs. It
also reviews rules and regulations that require in-
creased expenditures and establishes policies and
directives for the Department of Fiscal Services.
The Committee's twenty members include the
Senate President, the House Speaker, and the ma-
jority and minority floor leaders or designees. Other
members are divided equally between legislators
from the fiscal committees of the Senate and House
of Delegates. The presiding officers name the chair-
person and vice-chairperson (Code State Govern-
ment Article, secs. 2-601 through 2-606).


C. Bernard Fowler, Senate Chairperson
Michael H. Weir, House Chairperson

Staff: Myron H. Miller; Margaret G. McHale
(410) 841-3881

The Joint Committee on Chesapeake Bay Criti-
cal Areas was authorized in 1984 (Chapter 794,
Acts of 1984). Periodically, the Committee meets
with the Chesapeake Bay Critical Area Commission
to review the progress of the critical areas program
for the Bay.

Legislature /47

The Committee consists of ten members: five
senators appointed by the Senate President and five
delegates appointed by the House Speaker (Code
Natural Resources Article, sec. 8-1808).


Idamae Garrott, Senate Chairperson
Ann Marie Doory, House Chairperson

Staff: Karen D. Morgan; Lori Caldwell-Valentine
(410) 841-3736


Annual Report to General Assembly due 15 days
after regular session convenes.

The Joint Committee on Federal Relations
originated as the Maryland Commission on Inter-
governmental Cooperation in 1937 (Chapter 331,
Acts of 1937). The Commission was reorganized
under its current name in 1983 (Chapter 401, Acts
of 1983). The Committee monitors and evaluates
the relations between State and federal government
and the impact on the State, local government, and
Maryland citizens of proposals to alter those rela-
tions. It keeps State legislative and executive officials
informed of federal relations and the impact of
proposals for change. The Committee serves also as
a forum for considering certain State-local issues.
To advance cooperation between the State and
other units of government, the Committee pro-
poses adoption of compacts, and uniform or recip-
rocal administrative rules; and enactment of
uniform or reciprocal laws. The Committee also
endorses informal cooperation of governmental of-
fices, personal cooperation of government officials
and employees, and the exchange and clearance of
research and information.
The Committee consists of sixteen members.
Eight are senators appointed by the Senate Presi-
dent and eight are delegates appointed by the
House Speaker. The Senate President and House
Speaker designate the chairperson and vice-chair-
person (Code State Government Article, secs. 2-
901 through 2-906).

Idamae Garrott, Senate Chairperson
Henry B. Heller, House Chairperson
(410) 841-3736

The Advisory Commission on Federal-State-
Local Relations considers issues of concern to the
Joint Committee on Federal Relations.
The Advisory Commission consists of thirteen
members. They include four members of the Senate
and four of the House of Delegates appointed,


clear space
clear space
white space

Please view image to verify text. To report an error, please contact us.
Maryland Manual, 1994-95
Volume 186, Page 47   View pdf image
 Jump to  

This web site is presented for reference purposes under the doctrine of fair use. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: The site may contain material from other sources which may be under copyright. Rights assessment, and full originating source citation, is the responsibility of the user.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

An Archives of Maryland electronic publication.
For information contact

©Copyright  August 02, 2018
Maryland State Archives