clear space clear space clear space white space
 r c h i v e s   o f   M a r y l a n d   O n l i n e

PLEASE NOTE: The searchable text below was computer generated and may contain typographical errors. Numerical typos are particularly troubling. Click “View pdf” to see the original document.

  Maryland State Archives | Index | Help | Search
search for:
clear space
white space
Maryland Manual, 1991-92
Volume 185, Page 515   View pdf image (33K)
 Jump to  
clear space clear space clear space white space

State Archives
350 Rowe Blvd.
Annapolis, MD 21401 974-3867

The Governor's Mansion Trust originated in 1980
as Government House Trust (Chapter 267, Acts of
1980). In 1988, the Trust was reorganized as the
Governor's Mansion Trust (Chapter 494, Acts of
The Trust supervises and directs the renovation,
design, and furnishing of the seven State rooms of
the Governor's Mansion, the official residence of
the Governor. The State rooms include the center
hall, the conservatory, the private reception room,
the State dining room, the State drawing room, the
State parlor, and the State reception room. The
Trust also is responsible for landscaping the Man-
sion grounds; conserving and restoring objects in
the State rooms; and carrying out the maintenance
of the Stare rooms. An inventory of furnishings in
the Governor's Mansion is maintained by the Depart-
ment of General Services.
On behalf of the State, the Trust may receive and
accept gifts and loans of property for use in the State
rooms of the Governor's Mansion. No improve-
ment, alteration, addition, removal, or other
change in the internal design or furnishings of any
State room of the Governor's Mansion is
authorized unless approved by the Trust. In per-
forming its duties and responsibilities, th; Trust
consults with and seeks the advice of the Commis-
sion on Artistic Property and the Board of Trustees
and Council of the Maryland Historical Society
The Trust consists of thirteen members. Five
voting members include the Governor, the Senate
President, the Speaker of the House of Delegates,
the Secretary of General Services, and the Director
of the Maryland Historical Trust, or their designees.
Eight advisory nonvoting members also serve on
the Trust. The Secretary of General Services serves
as chairperson (Code State Government Article,
sees. 9-601 through 9-606).


George L. Russell, Jr., Chairperson

Appointed by Senate President: John Driggs; Norman
M. Glasgow; Sister Mary Louise Lyons.

Appointed by House Speaker: Carter M. Hickman;
Louise T. Keelty.

Terms expire 1992.
Ex officio: Lucille Maurcr, State Treasurer
Staff: William S. Ratchford II

Independent Agencies/515

Department of Fiscal Services
90 State Circle
Annapolis, MD 21401 841-3761

The Governor's Salary Commission was created by
Constitutional Amendment ratified at the general, elec-
tion of November 1976 (Chapter 543, Acts of 1976).
The Commission recommends to the General
Assembly the salaries of the Governor and the
Lieutenant Governor. These recommendations are
presented as a legislative joint resolution and must
be introduced no later than the fifteenth day of the
regular session every fourth year. The General As-
sembly may adopt or reduce the Commission's
recommendations, but may not increase the salaries
proposed. If the General Assembly fails to adopt or
amend the joint resolution within fifty calendar days
following its introduction, the salaries recom-
mended by the Commission shall apply. Salaries
recommended by the Commission and endorsed by
the General Assembly go into effect at the begin-
ning of the next term of the Governor. If the
Commission fails to provide salary recommenda-
tions, no salary changes can be made.
For the term of office from 1991 to 1995, the
Governor's salary is $120,000 and the salary of the
Lieutenant Governor is $100,000.
The seven-member Commission is comprised of
the State Treasurer, three appointees of the Senate
President, and three appointees of the House
Speaker. Members serve four-year terms (Const.,
Art. II, sees. 1A, 21, 21A).


Arnold F. Petersen, Chairperson

Appointed by Governor: William E. Claridge; Randall
P. Cogar; Robert Cullison; Samuel J. Demjen;
Pearl L. Gintling; John B. Gontrum; Charles G.
Greason; Frederick H. Habicht, Jr.; Steve
Hoffman; Thomas G. Krocn; James F. Skarda III.
Terms expire 1991.

Staff: Thomas Z. Reed

c/o Maryland Environmental Service
2020 Industrial Dr.
Annapolis, MD 21401 974-7261

The Hart-Miller-Pleasure Island Citizens Over-
sight Committee was created in 1981 (Chapter 587,
Acts of 1981). The Committee monitors the redeposit
of spoil and Baltimore County tributary spoil within
five miles of the Hart-Miller-Pleasure Island chain in
Baltimore County It also hears complaints lodged by
individuals affected by this spoil.
The Governor appoints the Committee's twelve
members. They include two trustees from the


clear space
clear space
white space

Please view image to verify text. To report an error, please contact us.
Maryland Manual, 1991-92
Volume 185, Page 515   View pdf image (33K)
 Jump to  

This web site is presented for reference purposes under the doctrine of fair use. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: The site may contain material from other sources which may be under copyright. Rights assessment, and full originating source citation, is the responsibility of the user.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

An Archives of Maryland electronic publication.
For information contact

©Copyright  August 02, 2018
Maryland State Archives