clear space clear space clear space white space
 r c h i v e s   o f   M a r y l a n d   O n l i n e

PLEASE NOTE: The searchable text below was computer generated and may contain typographical errors. Numerical typos are particularly troubling. Click “View pdf” to see the original document.

  Maryland State Archives | Index | Help | Search
search for:
clear space
white space
Maryland Manual, 1989-90
Volume 184, Page 383   View pdf image (33K)
 Jump to  
clear space clear space clear space white space

proved police training schools (Code 1957, Art. 41,
sec. 4-201).

The Commission certifies persons as police offi-
cers who have met all standards of the Commission.
Under certain conditions, it also can suspend or
revoke certification. Persons not satisfactorily
trained in the twelve-month probationary period
may not be employed as police officers. Nor may a
police officer serve after certification has been re-
voked, suspended, or allowed to lapse.

The Commission studies entrance-level and in-
service training methods and procedures, and con-
sults and cooperates with recognized federal, State
or municipal law enforcement agencies, educational
institutions, and other State departments and agen-
cies concerned with police training. The administra-
tive staff of the Commission also works with the
Correctional Training Commission.

The Police Training Commission consists of
fourteen members. Eleven serve ex officio. The
Secretary of Public Safety and Correctional Ser-
vices, with the approval of the Governor and Senate
advice and consent, appoints the remaining three
members for three-year terms. Each appointed
member must be a police official from a different
geographical area of the State. Ex officio members
may be represented by alternates. With the approval
of the Secretary of Public Safety and Correctional
Services, the Commission appoints an Executive
Director (Code 1957, Art. 41, sec. 4-201).


John J. O'Neill, Deputy Secretary of Public Safety &
Correctional Services

Appointed by Secretary of Public Safety &
Correctional Services with Governor's approval
and Senate advice & consent: Samuel F. Saxton,
Director, Prince George's County Detention Center.
1989; Michael E. Butler, 1990; LamonteE. Cooke,
Warden, Queen Anne's County, 1991.

Ex officio: Fred E. Jordan, Jr., Commissioner oF
Correction; Donald Atkinson, Ed.D., Acting
Director, Division of Parole & Probation; Barbara
Bostick, Warden, Baltimore City Jail; Dominic J.
Mele, Maryland Correctional Administrators
Association; Paul S. Hastmann, President, Maryland
Criminal Justice Association; Sheriff Grover
Sensabaugh, President, Maryland State Sheriffs
Association; J. Joseph Curran, Jr., Attorney General:
David Helman, Federal Bureau of Prisons.

Appointed by Maryland Higher Educatior
Commission: Dr. Calvin W. Burnett, President
Coppin State College

3085 Hernwood Rd.
Woodstock, MD 21163 442-270C

Department of Public Safety & Correctional Services/383

In 1971, the Correctional Training Commission
was established to improve the administration of
the correctional system by raising standards of
training and education for those in the field of
corrections, parole, and probation (Chapter 213,
Acts of 1971).

Subject to the authority of the Secretary of
Public Safety and Correctional Services, the Com-
mission prescribes standards for and certifies all
schools that offer correction, parole, or probation
training courses. It may revoke a school's certifica-
tion for cause.

The Commission outlines minimum qualifica-
tions for instructors and certifies qualified instruc-
tors for approved training schools. The
Commission certifies correctional officers who have
satisfactorily completed training programs. It also
operates approved correctional training schools.

The Commission examines correctional training
methods and procedures for all correctional
schools, and consults and cooperates with recog-
nized federal, State or municipal correctional agen-
cies, educational institutions, and other
departments and agencies of the State concerned
with correctional training.

The Commission has thirteen members. Ten
serve ex officio and may be represented by alter-
nates. With the approval of the Governor and Sen-
ate advice and consent, the Secretary of Public
Safety and Correctional Services appoints three
members from correctional, parole, or probation
officers of different geographical regions for three-
year terms. The Commission appoints the Execu-
tive Director with the approval of the Secretary
(Code 1957, Art. 41, sec. 4-301).


Dr. Norma B. Gluckstern, Director
Jessup, MD 20794 799-3400

Authorized by Chapter 476, Acts of 1951,
Patuxent Institution opened in 1955 under admin-
istration by the Department of Correction. The
Institution became an autonomous agency under
the control of the Board of Patuxent Institution in
1961 (Chapter 629, Acts of 1961). In 1970, the
Institution was made part of the Department of
Public Safety and Correctional Services (Chapter
401, Acts of 1970). Patuxent's status has continued
as an institution separate from the Division of Cor-
rection, and it has retained its own board.

Patuxent Institution provides treatment and re-
' habilitation programs and services for eligible pris-
oners. The Institution offers medical, psychiatric,
psychological, and social casework services, as well
) as academic, vocational, recreational, and religious

clear space
clear space
white space

Please view image to verify text. To report an error, please contact us.
Maryland Manual, 1989-90
Volume 184, Page 383   View pdf image (33K)
 Jump to  

This web site is presented for reference purposes under the doctrine of fair use. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: The site may contain material from other sources which may be under copyright. Rights assessment, and full originating source citation, is the responsibility of the user.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

An Archives of Maryland electronic publication.
For information contact

©Copyright  October 06, 2023
Maryland State Archives