clear space clear space clear space white space
 r c h i v e s   o f   M a r y l a n d   O n l i n e

PLEASE NOTE: The searchable text below was computer generated and may contain typographical errors. Numerical typos are particularly troubling. Click “View pdf” to see the original document.

  Maryland State Archives | Index | Help | Search
search for:
clear space
white space
Maryland Manual, 1989-90
Volume 184, Page 382   View pdf image (33K)
 Jump to  
clear space clear space clear space white space

382/Maryland Manual

Analysis, Capability Assessment, and Multi-Year
Development Planning (Code 1957, Art. 16A,

secs. 1-12).


Bishop L. Robinson, Secretary of Public Safety &
Correctional Services

Government representatives appointed by
Governor: Dr. Jacob Casper, Dept. of Agriculture;
Richard F. Pecora, Dept. of the Environment; John
M. Staubicz, Dept. of Health & Mental Hygiene;
James W. Peck,Dept. of Natural Resources; Elizabeth
L. Homer, Dept. of Transportation; Arthur
Hilsenrad, Office of Planning; Ameen I. Ramzy,
M.D., Maryland Institute for Emergency Medical
Services Systems; Lt. Col. Leaston V. Booker,
Maryland State Police; Maj. Gen. James F. Fretterd,
Adjutant General; John W. Hoglund, Director, Eire
& Rescue Institute; David McMillion, Director, State
Emergency Management & Civil Defense Agency;
Rocco J. Gabriele, State Fire Marshal; Charles W.
Riley, Md. Fire Rescue Education & Training
Commission; Chief Peter J. O'Connor, Baltimore
City Fire Dept.; Chief Paul H. Reincke, Baltimore
County Fire Dept.; Chief James Estepp, Prince
George's County Fire Dept.

Private sector representatives appointed by
Governor: William Burroughs; Charles H.
Chandler; Sanford W. Daily; Marvin J. Odesky;
Thomas Pritchett; Paula Purviance; Kenneth
Schroeder; Smith H. Stathem, Jr.; Paul E. Welsh.

June L. Swem, Secretary

State Emergency Operating Center
Reisterstown Road & Sudbrook Lane
Pikesville, MD 21208 486-4422

Formed in 1981, the Emergency Management
Advisory Council advises the Governor on matters
of State emergency management and civil defense
(Chapter 505, Acts of 1981). The Council is
appointed by the Governor and includes represen-
tatives from major State departments, local govern-
ment, and volunteer organizations such as
firefighters and rescue squads.


June L. Swem, Secretary

State Emergency Operating Center
Reisterstown Road & Sudbrook Lane
Pikesville, MD 21208 486-4422

In 1987, the Governor designated the Emer-
gency Management Advisory Council to serve as
the Maryland Emergency Response Commission
(Executive Order 01.01.1987.11) .The designation
was made in accordance with Tide III of the Federal

Superfund Amendments and Reauthorization Act
of 1986 (PL. 99-499).

To protect people and the environment from
hazardous chemical material, the Maryland Emer-
gency Response Commission established Emer-
gency Response Planning Districts, and local
Emergency Planning Committees. The Commis-
sion also receives and distributes certain material
safety data sheets, hazardous chemical inventories,
and toxic chemical release forms.


John A. Schuyler, Executive Director

3085 Hernwood Rd.
Woodstock, MD 21163 442-2700

Chairperson: Vacancy

Appointed by Secretary of Public Safety &
Correctional Services with Governor's approval
and Senate advice & consent: Russell E. Wroten,
Chief, Cambridge Police Dept., 1989; Cornelius J.
Behan, Chief, Baltimore County Police Dept., 1990;
Richard J. Ashton, Chief, Frederick Police Dept.,

Ex officio: Cpl. John Spiroff, President, Maryland
Law Enforcement Officers, Inc.; J. Joseph Curran, Jr.,
Attorney General; John S. Toll, Chancellor, Univ-
ersity of Maryland System; John J. O'Neill, Deputy
Secretary of Public Safety & Correctional Services; Lt.
Col. Frank Mazzone, President, Maryland Chiefs of
Police Association; Joseph V. Corless, Special Agent
in Charge, Federal Bureau oflnvestigation, Baltimore
Office; Walter E. Chase, Sr., President, Eastern Shore
Police Association; Sheriff Grover Sensabaugh,
President, Maryland State Sheriffs' Association;
Edward J. Tilghman, Commissioner, Baltimore City
Police Dept.; Carl McVeigh, Fraternal Order ofPolice.

3085 Hernwood Rd.
Woodstock, MD 21163 442-2700

The Police Training Commission was created in
1966 to improve law enforcement by raising stan-
dards of training and education for police (Chapter
286, Acts of 1966).

Subject to the authority of the Secretary of
Public Safety and Correctional Services, the Com-
mission prescribes standards for and certifies
schools that offer police and security training. It
may revoke a school's certification for cause. The
Commission sets minimum qualifications for in-
structors and certifies qualified instructors for ap-
proved training schools. It verifies which officers
have satisfactorily completed training programs and
issues diplomas. The Commission also operates ap-

clear space
clear space
white space

Please view image to verify text. To report an error, please contact us.
Maryland Manual, 1989-90
Volume 184, Page 382   View pdf image (33K)
 Jump to  

This web site is presented for reference purposes under the doctrine of fair use. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: The site may contain material from other sources which may be under copyright. Rights assessment, and full originating source citation, is the responsibility of the user.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

An Archives of Maryland electronic publication.
For information contact

©Copyright  October 06, 2023
Maryland State Archives