clear space clear space clear space white space
 r c h i v e s   o f   M a r y l a n d   O n l i n e

PLEASE NOTE: The searchable text below was computer generated and may contain typographical errors. Numerical typos are particularly troubling. Click “View pdf” to see the original document.

  Maryland State Archives | Index | Help | Search
search for:
clear space
white space
Maryland Manual, 1989-90
Volume 184, Page 345   View pdf image (33K)
 Jump to  
clear space clear space clear space white space

Department of Natural Resources/345

Created in 1969, the Department of Natural Resources traces its roots to the first State Geological
Survey which operated from 1834 to 1841. In 1896, the State Geological and Economic Survey was
formed (Chapter 51, Acts of 1896). The State Game Warden's Office was created in 1896 and became
part of the newly formed Conservation Commission in 1916 (Chapter 293, Acts of 1896; Chapter 682,
Acts of 1916). By 1906, the State Board of Forestry was established (Chapter 294, Acts of 1906). More
conservation agencies were created in 1941: the Board ofNatural Resources; the Department ofTidewater
Esheries; the Department of Game and Inland Fish; the Department of State Forests and Parks; the
Department of Geology, Mines, and Water Resources; and the Department of Research and Education
(Chapter 508, Acts of 1941). These agencies were consolidated to form the Department ofNatural
Resources in 1969 (Chapter 154, Acts of 1969).

Under the Secretary ofNatural Resources, the Department has a Deputy Secretary and six assistant
secretariats. There is one Assistant Secretary each for Administration; Capital Programs; Chesapeake Bay
Programs; and Forest, Park and Wildlife. For Natural Resources, two Assistant Secretaries serve.

The Department is responsible for the Maryland membership units of the Atlantic States Marine
Fisheries Commission, Coastal States Organization, Interstate Mining Commission, Ohio River Basin
Commission, Interstate Oil Compact Commission, Interstate Commission on the Potomac River Basin,
Potomac River Basin Advisory Committee, Potomac River Fisheries Commission, Southern States Energy
Board and the Susquehanna River Basin Commission (Code Natural Resources Article, secs. 1-101
through 1-104).


The Secretary of Natural Resources heads the
Department. The Secretary is appointed by the
Governor with Senate advice and consent.

Under the direct supervision of the Office of the
Secretary are the following services: Executive Di-
rection, Public Affairs Office, and General Admin-
istration. Executive Direction establishes,
coordinates, administers, and directs departmental
policy, and has final responsibility for management
policy Executive Direction also maintains liaison
with various legislative bodies. The Public Affairs
Office informs the public of Department policies
and activities. General Administration oversees fis-
cal affairs, personnel, federal aid coordination, data
processing services, and the registration and titling
of boats.


Chairperson: Vacancy

Appointed by Governor (who also designates
chair) with Senate advice & consent: Wallace D.
Miller; Thomas L. Osborne; G. Steele Phillips.
Terms expire 1988.

Russell W. Blake; Victor K. Butanis; Parris N.
Glendening; Ronald B. Hickernell; Thomas L.
Jarvis; Kathryn D. Langner; J. Frank Raley, Jr.
Terms expire 1990.

Ronald D. Adkins; William J. Bostian; Samuel Y.
Bowling; Ronald A. Krasic; Albert W. Zahniser.
Terms expire 1991.

William H. Corkran, Jr.; James E. Gutman;
Shepard Krech, Jr.; Robert R. Price, Jr. Terms expire

Ex ofFicio: Wayne A. Cawley, Jr., Secretary of
Agriculture; J. Randall Evans, Secretary of Economic
& Employment Development; Robert Perciasepe,
designee of Secretary of the Environment; Ardath
Cade, designee of Secretary of Housing & Community
Development; Torrey C. Brown, Secretary ofNatural
Resources; Vacancy, Director of Planning.

Dr. Sarah J. Taylor, Executive Director

West Garrett Place, Suite 320
275 West St.
Annapolis, MD 21401 974-2426

The Chesapeake Bay Critical Area Commission
was created in 1984 (Chapter 794, Acts of 1984).
The Commission monitors a 1,000-foot shoreline
strip around the Bay and its tributaries. This plan-
ning area is critical to the survival of the Bay's tidal
waters, fish, wildlife, and plant habitats.

The Commission regulates undeveloped land
use along the Bay's shores and tributaries and may
intervene in local governments' development plans
if it determines the Bay may be endangered. Period-
ically, the Commission meets with the General
Assembly's Joint Committee on Chesapeake Bay
Critical Areas.

Twenty-six commission members are appointed
to four-year terms by the Governor with Senate
advice and consent. They include five ex officio
voting members or their designees. The Governor
designates the chairperson with Senate advice and
consent (Code Natural Resources Article, secs. 8-
1801 through 8-1816).


clear space
clear space
white space

Please view image to verify text. To report an error, please contact us.
Maryland Manual, 1989-90
Volume 184, Page 345   View pdf image (33K)
 Jump to  

This web site is presented for reference purposes under the doctrine of fair use. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: The site may contain material from other sources which may be under copyright. Rights assessment, and full originating source citation, is the responsibility of the user.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

An Archives of Maryland electronic publication.
For information contact

©Copyright  October 06, 2023
Maryland State Archives