clear space clear space clear space white space
 r c h i v e s   o f   M a r y l a n d   O n l i n e

PLEASE NOTE: The searchable text below was computer generated and may contain typographical errors. Numerical typos are particularly troubling. Click “View pdf” to see the original document.

  Maryland State Archives | Index | Help | Search
search for:
clear space
white space
Maryland Manual, 1989-90
Volume 184, Page 330   View pdf image (33K)
 Jump to  
clear space clear space clear space white space

330/Maryland Manual

are recommended by the Secretary of Health and
Mental Hygiene. The Secretary of Agriculture rec-
ommends the member representing agriculture.
The Chairperson of the Public Service Commission
recommends the member representing businesses
regulated by the Public Service Commission. Au-
thorization for the Board continues until July 1,
1994 (Code 1957, Art. 89, secs. 28-49B).


Chairperson: Gordon E. Reese, 1991

Appointed by Secretary of Licensing & Regulation
with Governor's approval: Albert H. Evans, 1989;
Wilfred M. Seaborne, 1989; Robert E. Petersen,
1989; Stanley E. Zorick, 1991; Alma T. Bell;
Samuel W. Christine III; Jean Ross; one vacancy.

501 St. Paul Place
Baltimore, MD 21202 333-4184
toll free: 1-800-492-6226

The Wage and Hour Advisory Committee was
created in 1965 (Chapter 697, Acts of 1965). The
Committee assists the Commissioner of Labor and
Industry in formulating rules and regulations to
implement the State minimum wage law. The Com-
mittee must hold public hearings every two years to
review regulations and recommend changes of
rates, coverage, or administration.

The Committee consists of nine members ap-
pointed for six-year terms by the Secretary of Li-
censing and Regulation with the approval of the
Governor. Three members represent employers,
three are representatives of employees, and three
represent the general public. The Secretary of Li-
censing and Regulation designates a public member
as chairperson. Authorization for the Committee
continues until July 1,1994 (Code 1957, Art. 100,
secs. 81-93A).


Chairperson: William P. Kaczorowski, 1991

Appointed by Governor with advice of Secretary of
Licensing & Regulation and Senate advice &
consent: Michael G. Callas, 1989; Charles Labo,
1989; William A. Cather, 1990; Carl M. Loffler,
Jr., 1990; Jerry M. Sheppard, 1991.

501 St. Paul Place
Baltimore, MD 21202 333-4175
toll free: 1-800-492-6226

The Advisory Council on Prevailing Wage Rates
was created in 1969 (Chapter 558, Acts of 1969).
It advises the Commissioner of Labor and Industry
on hourly wage rates applicable to contracts and
subcontracts for public works within the State. The
Council establishes standards for hours of work and

rates of pay, conditions of employment, and duties
of certain public officials under certain contracts
and subcontracts for public works in Maryland. The
Council also calls upon other agencies of State and
local government for statistical data and reports.

The Council has six members appointed to
three-year terms by the Governor with the advice
of the Secretary of Licensing and Regulation and
Senate advice and consent. Two members represent
management in the building and construction in-
dustry, two represent labor in the building and
construction industry and two are public represen-
tatives. The Governor designates a chairperson an-
nually. Authorization for the Council continues
until July 1,1994 (Code State Finance and Procure-
ment Article, sec. 18-513).


Mario W. Francioli, Commissioner
Judith B. Donaldson, Deputy Commissioner

501 St. Paul Place
Baltimore, MD 21202 333-6209
toll free: 1-800-492-7521

The Commissioner of the Division of Occupa-
tional and Professional Licensing oversees and co-
ordinates fourteen boards, three commissions, and
an investigative unit within the Division. The Com-
missioner plans and directs the daily administrative,
fiscal, and technical functions of the agencies super-
vised and administers all aspects of the licensing
laws of those agencies.

Chairperson: D. Chester O'Sullivan, 1993

Appointed by Governor with advice & consent of
Secretary of Licensing & Regulation: Albert J.
Flora, 1989; William I. Garner, Jr., 1991; Ben
Alperstein, 1993; Robert H. Thompson, 1993.

Dennis L. Gring, Executive Secretary

501 St. Paul Place
Baltimore, MD 21202 333-6313
toll free: 1-800-492-7521

The State Athletic Commission was established
in 1920 (Chapter 710, Acts of 1920). The Com-
mission supervises all boxing shows, wrestling
matches, and dosed circuit or subscription telecasts
scheduled and held in Maryland. It enacts and
enforces rules to govern such bouts. It licenses all
corporations, associations, or persons sponsoring
such bouts, and all referees, managers, seconds, and
participants. The Commission collects from all
sponsors of boxing and wrestling matches a fee
equal to ten percent of the gross gate receipts and

clear space
clear space
white space

Please view image to verify text. To report an error, please contact us.
Maryland Manual, 1989-90
Volume 184, Page 330   View pdf image (33K)
 Jump to  

This web site is presented for reference purposes under the doctrine of fair use. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: The site may contain material from other sources which may be under copyright. Rights assessment, and full originating source citation, is the responsibility of the user.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

An Archives of Maryland electronic publication.
For information contact

©Copyright  October 06, 2023
Maryland State Archives