clear space clear space clear space white space
 r c h i v e s   o f   M a r y l a n d   O n l i n e

PLEASE NOTE: The searchable text below was computer generated and may contain typographical errors. Numerical typos are particularly troubling. Click “View pdf” to see the original document.

  Maryland State Archives | Index | Help | Search
search for:
clear space
white space
Maryland Manual, 1989-90
Volume 184, Page 144   View pdf image (33K)
 Jump to  
clear space clear space clear space white space

144/Maryland Manual

measures to combat State and local problems in the
administration of justice.

Appointed by the Governor, the Board consists
of thirty members. Eleven serve ex officio. One is a
member of the Senate nominated by the Senate
President. One is a member of the House of Dele-
gates nominated by the Speaker. Nominated by the
Chief Judge of the Court of Appeals, one member
represents the Circuit Court. Eleven are persons
who have demonstrated concern, interest, and/or
knowledge in the area of criminal justice. The re-
maining five members include one representative
from each of the following: Maryland Association
of Counties; Maryland Municipal League; State's
Attorneys' Association; Chiefs of Police Associa-
tion; and Maryland Sheriffs' Association. The Gov-
ernor designates the chairperson and


R. Howard Hill, Director

One Market Center, Box 11
300 W Lexington St., 2nd floor
Baltimore, MD 21201 333-2459

Budget Code
FY1989 Total Appropriation.................$423,422
General Funds........................................$423,422
FY1989 Total Authorized Positions..................10

Annual Report to Governor & General Assembly due
15th day of regular legislative session.


R. Howard Hill.......................333-2459


(established by Board of Public Works)
Chairperson: John B. Covert........333-2459


(appointed by Director, Office of Minority
Chairperson: Vacancy.....................333-2459


Chairperson: R. Howard Hill, Director, Office
of Minority Affairs

Ex officio: Wayne A. Cawley, Jr., Secretary of
Agriculture; Charles L. Benton, Jr., Secretary of
Budget & Fiscal Planning; J. Randall Evans,
Secretary of Economic & Employment
Development; Martin W. Walsh, Jr., Secretary of
the Environment; Earl F. Seboda, Secretary of
General Services; Adele Wilzack, Secretary of
Health & Mental Hygiene; Jacqueline H. Rogers,
Secretary of Housing & Community Development;
Ruth Massinga, Secretary of Human Resources;

William A. Fogle, Jr., Secretary of Licensing &
Regulation; Torrey C. Brown, Secretary of Natural
Resources; Hilda E. Ford, Secretary of Personnel;
Bishop L. Robinson, Secretary of Public Safety &
Correctional Services; Richard H. Trainor,
Secretary of Transportation; Vacancy, Office of
Planning; Joseph L. Shilling, State Superintendent
of Schools; Shaila R. Aery, Secretary of Higher

The Office of Minority Affairs was created in
1980 (Chapter 25, Acts of 1980). It replaced the
Office of Minority Business Enterprise of the De-
partment of Economic and Community Develop-

The Office of Minority Affairs fosters expanded
participation by minority businesses. The Office
promotes and coordinates government programs
aimed at strengthening such firms, and provides
technical and management assistance to them. In
addition, the Office advises the Governor on mat-
ters affecting minority employment, rights, and in-
terests, and provides assistance to minority citizens,
as authorized by the Governor (Code State Gov-
ernment Article, secs. 9-301 through 9-306).

The Office issues the Maryland Business Enter-
prise Certification Directory, available upon request.

The Office is assisted by the Minority Business
Enterprise Certification Council, the Minority Busi-
ness Enterprise Advisory Committee, and the Inter-
departmental Advisory Committee for Minority


Chairperson: John B. Covert 333-2459

The Board of Public Works established the Mi-
nority Business Enterprise Council under the Office
of Minority Affairs in 1984. The Council deter-
mines which businesses offering services to State
government are legitimate minority enterprises and
certifies them as such. The Council consists of rep-
resentatives from the Department of Budget and
Fiscal Planning, Department of General Services,
Maryland Food Center Authority, Interagency
Committee on School Construction, University of
Maryland System, and three additional State agen-
cies designated annually by the Board of Public
Works. Representatives of the Attorney General's
Office and the Department of Transportation serve
ex officio.


Chairperson: Vacancy 333-2459

Created by the Board of Public Works in 1984,
the Minority Business Enterprise Certification

clear space
clear space
white space

Please view image to verify text. To report an error, please contact us.
Maryland Manual, 1989-90
Volume 184, Page 144   View pdf image (33K)
 Jump to  

This web site is presented for reference purposes under the doctrine of fair use. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: The site may contain material from other sources which may be under copyright. Rights assessment, and full originating source citation, is the responsibility of the user.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

An Archives of Maryland electronic publication.
For information contact

©Copyright  August 01, 2018
Maryland State Archives