clear space clear space clear space white space
 r c h i v e s   o f   M a r y l a n d   O n l i n e

PLEASE NOTE: The searchable text below was computer generated and may contain typographical errors. Numerical typos are particularly troubling. Click “View pdf” to see the original document.

  Maryland State Archives | Index | Help | Search
search for:
clear space
white space
Maryland Manual, 1989-90
Volume 184, Page 142   View pdf image (33K)
 Jump to  
clear space clear space clear space white space

142/Mmyland Manual

By Executive Order, the Governor created the
Maryland State Planning Council on Developmen-
tal Disabilities in 1971 to carry out provisions of the
federal Developmental Disabilities Services and Fa-
cilities Construction Act (EL. 91-517), now the
Developmental Disabilities Act (EL. 98-537). In
1973, the Council was reconstituted to enable the
State to qualify for certain federal grants. Formerly
under the Department of Health and Mental Hy-
giene, the Council was placed within the Office for
Handicapped Individuals in 1987 (Executive Order

The Council serves as an advocate for persons
with developmental disabilities. The Council also
develops the State plan on developmental disabili-
ties and monitors, reviews, and evaluates its imple-
mentation. The Council awards funding annually
for demonstration projects that enable people with
developmental disabilities to become independent,
productive citizens in their communities.

The Governor appoints the members of the
Council. At least half the Council consists of per-
sons with developmental disabilities or their parents
or guardians, or immediate relatives or guardians of
persons with mentally impairing developmental
disabilities. Of these, at least one-third must be
persons with developmental disabilities (U.S.
Code, Title 42, sec. 6024).


Chairperson: John A. Clinton, 1988

Karen G. Colvin; M. Doreen Croser; William B.
Fox; Richard Frye; Gertrude R. Jeffers; Margaret
Mann, Ph.D.; Jackson McKay; John F. Strahan,
M.D.; David Thompson. Terms expire 1988.

Stevie M. Carter; Walter M. Dickerson; Dan
Ingram; Paul V. Kane; James Letherman; Peggy
K. Martin; George McDevitt; Emanuel Orenberg;
Frank Ortega; Linda Purcell; Anne Wade;
Jacqueline Wiggins. Terms expire 1989.

Richard A. Batterton; Michael Brockmeyer;
Suzanne H. Clay, Richard F. Colburii; John W.
Derr; Jack Kaeufer; Kurt Milam; Pierre H.
Ossman; Ervina Kennedy Phillips; Phyllis T.
Shelton; Stanley W. Stocker; H. Pat Walker. Terms
expire 1990.


Established in 1947 as the Governor's Commit-
tee to Promote Employment of the Handicapped,
the Committee was renamed the Governor's Com-
mittee on Employment of the Handicapped in
1979. In 1980, the Committee was placed under
the Division of Vocational Rehabilitation in the
State Department of Education (Executive Order
01.01.1980.12). The Committee became part of

the Office for Handicapped Individuals in 1987
(Executive Order 01.01.1987.09).

The Committee works to create a public aware-
ness of the problems faced by handicapped individ-
uals in finding employment and cooperates with all
groups, public and private, in promoting services
for the handicapped. The Committee also initiates
and promotes programs to stimulate hiring the

The Committee promotes meaningful employ-
ment opportunities for qualified mentally, physi-
cally and emotionally disabled individuals as
defined by the Rehabilitation Act of 1973, as
amended. The Committee strives to enhance pub-
lic awareness and understanding of barriers to em-
ployment that disabled individuals face and of the
laws that ensure equal opportunity The Committee
also informs handicapped individuals of opportuni-
ties available for habitation and rehabilitation so
that more will develop marketable job skills.

The Committee sponsors annual conferences,
awards programs, and poster and journalism con-
tests to promote public awareness of employment
and rehabilitation programs for Maryland's dis-
abled citizens.

Local committees exist in many counties and in
Baltimore City. A quarterly newsletter, Mainstrea-
mer, is distributed to citizens and employers inter-
ested in Committee objectives and to others upon

The Committee consists of thirty-five members.
The Governor appoints members for three-year
terms and designates the chairperson.


Appointed by Governor: Mathias J. Devito; Col.
Joseph V. DiGiancinto; Jerome W. Geckle; Charles
B. Hofmann; Richard E. Hug; Richard E.
Marriott; D. Bruce McMahan; Olivia H. Phillips;
John A. Picciotto; Thomas S. Saquella; Murray
Weingarten; John T. C. Yeh.

Contact: Marian S. Vessels

The Chief Executive Officers' Council for Em-
ployment of the Disabled was established by the
Governor in September 1988.


Chairperson: Regina Bernard, iUsigme of Secretary
of Human Resources

Mack Bonner, M.D., tUsignee of Secretary of Health
& Mental Hygiene; Judy Mayer, (Usignee of Director

clear space
clear space
white space

Please view image to verify text. To report an error, please contact us.
Maryland Manual, 1989-90
Volume 184, Page 142   View pdf image (33K)
 Jump to  

This web site is presented for reference purposes under the doctrine of fair use. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: The site may contain material from other sources which may be under copyright. Rights assessment, and full originating source citation, is the responsibility of the user.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

An Archives of Maryland electronic publication.
For information contact

©Copyright  August 01, 2018
Maryland State Archives