clear space clear space clear space white space
 r c h i v e s   o f   M a r y l a n d   O n l i n e

PLEASE NOTE: The searchable text below was computer generated and may contain typographical errors. Numerical typos are particularly troubling. Click “View pdf” to see the original document.

  Maryland State Archives | Index | Help | Search
search for:
clear space
white space
Maryland Manual, 1987-88
Volume 183, Page 623   View pdf image (33K)
 Jump to  
clear space clear space clear space white space

Recreation and Parks Coordinator
Michael P. Morse


Planning and Zoning Commission
James I. Heikes, Chairperson, 1990; Carol
Kabler, 1987; John Sewell, 1988; Ralph Sim-
mons, 1989; Richard Hutchinson, 1991; Clinton
S. Bradley III, County Council. Deborah A.
Bauer, Planning Director.

Planning Director
Deborah A. Bauer

County Appeals Board
James E. Warner, Chairperson, 1989; Mildred
Parrott, 1987; Harry E. Clarke, 1988; Edzel L.
Turner, 1988; Robert K. Huntington, 1989. Al-
Phillip E. Councell, 1988; W. Aubry

Historic District Commission
Mrs. R. F. Shannahan, Chairperson

Agricultural Preservation Advisory Board
Allen Baynard, Chairperson

District Forestry Board
John E. Brodie; Sidney H. Dickson; William B.
Ewing; Earl J. Hutchison. Terms expire 1987.

Public Works Advisory Board
Robert Reindollar, Chairperson

County Engineer
William R. Runyan

Roads Supervisor
Willson H. Tull, Sr.

Plumbing Inspectors, Middle Dept. Inspection
Jack Hoffman; Robert Smith.

Electrical Examiners Board
Robin Ewing, Chairperson


Airport Authority
William H. Corkran, Jr., Chairperson


Liquor Control Board
W. Francis Callahan, Chairperson, 1987; James
L. Daffin, 1989; Marie Clague, 1991.

Washington County/623


Oystermen's Tongers Advisory Committee
Robert R. Hambleton, Chairperson; William T.
Carpenter; Thomas Haddaway; William Sutton;
Earl Buddy Wharton.

Oystermen's Dredgers Advisory Committee
Wade Murphy, Jr., Chairperson; Russell Dize;
Edward K. Parley; Stanley Larrimore; Gene


Extension Agents
Jean A. Greene, County Director; Barbara E.
Jeffries; Donald E. Osburn; K. Marc Teffeau;
Donald Webster.

Soil Conservation District Supervisors
Donald Bridges (County appointee). Chairper-
William E. Sharp, Jr., 1988; Allen
Baynard, 1989; William Beaven, 1990; Norman
J. Fike, 1991; Donald E. Osburn, Extension
Agent, Secretary (nonvoting).
Dorothy Abbott-
Donnelly, District Conservationist.


County Seat: Hagerstown 21740

Origin: Created from Frederick County by resolve
of the Constitutional Convention of 1776.

Name: Named for George Washington.
Form of Government: County Commissioners

County Code: See Code of the Public Local Laws
of Washington County

Area: 467.07 sq. miles (454.97 land, 12.10 water)

Population. 1900: 45,133; 1950: 78,886; 1960:
91,219; 1970: 103,829; 1980: 113,086.

Principal Incorporated Places (1980 census):
Hagerstown (34,132), Boonsboro (1,908),
Hancock (1,887), Williamsport (1,867)

Principal Unincorporated Places (1980 census):
Halfway (8,639), Bridgeport (3,626), Cascade-
Highfield (3,050)

Voter Registration, Oct. 6, 1986. Democrat:
27,442; Republican: 20,039; Other Parties: 44;
No Party Affiliation: 3,069; Total: 50,594.


clear space
clear space
white space

Please view image to verify text. To report an error, please contact us.
Maryland Manual, 1987-88
Volume 183, Page 623   View pdf image (33K)
 Jump to  

This web site is presented for reference purposes under the doctrine of fair use. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: The site may contain material from other sources which may be under copyright. Rights assessment, and full originating source citation, is the responsibility of the user.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

An Archives of Maryland electronic publication.
For information contact

©Copyright  August 02, 2018
Maryland State Archives