clear space clear space clear space white space
 r c h i v e s   o f   M a r y l a n d   O n l i n e

PLEASE NOTE: The searchable text below was computer generated and may contain typographical errors. Numerical typos are particularly troubling. Click “View pdf” to see the original document.

  Maryland State Archives | Index | Help | Search
search for:
clear space
white space
Maryland Manual, 1987-88
Volume 183, Page 592   View pdf image (33K)
 Jump to  
clear space clear space clear space white space

592/Maryland Manual

Agent, Secretary (nonvoting). James Schlosnagle,
District Conservationist; Shaun L. Sanders, Dis-
trict Manager.


County Seat: Bel Air 21014

Origin: Erected from Baltimore County by
Chapter 6, Acts of 1773.



Name: Named for Henry Harford, last
Proprietary of Maryland. He was a son of
Frederick Calvert, Sixth Lord Baltimore, but
because of his illegitimate birth did not inherit
the title.

Form of Government: Charter (1972)

County Code: See Code of the Public Local Laws
of Harford County

Area: 464.14 sq. miles (447.64 land, 16.50 water)

Population. 1900: 28,269; 1950: 51,782; 1960:
76,722; 1970: 115,378; 1980: 145,930.

Principal Incorporated Places (1980 census):
Aberdeen (11,533), Bel Air (7,814), Havre de
Grace (8,763)

Principal Unincorporated Places (1980 census):
Edgewood (19,435), Joppatowne (11,348), Bel
Air South (8,461)

Voter Registration, Oct. 6, 1986. Democrat:
46,858; Republican: 21,215; Other Parties: 25;
No Party Affiliation: 4,640; Total: 72,738.

Per Capita Income, 1985 (estimated): $12,039

State Parks: Gunpowder Falls (11,470 acres),
Palmer (463 acres). Rocks (Deer Creek) (841
acres), Susquehanna (2,537 acres)

Colleges/Universities: Harford Community
College, Bel Air; Eastern Christian College, Bel

Museums/Historical Societies: Historical Society
of Harford County, Inc., 324 Kenmore Ave.,
Bel Air 21014; U.S. Army Ordnance Museum,
Aberdeen Proving Ground, Aberdeen 21005;
Steppingstone Museum Association, Rt. 1, Box
94A, Street 21154


Circuit Court
Main Street
Bel Air 21014 Telephone: 838-6000

District Court
Mary Risteau Multi-Services Bidg.
2 S. Bond St.
Bel Air 21014 Telephone: 838^500

Court Terms:

Circuit Court—Grand Jury and Petit Jury, second
Monday in January, April, and September.

Orphans' Court—abolished; probate matters now
under jurisdiction of Circuit Court.

Circuit Court Resident Judges
William 0. Carr, Administrative Judge, 2001;
Maurice Baldwin, 1988; Brodnax Cameron, Jr.,
1993; Cypert 0. Whitfill, 1999.

Circuit Court Clerk
Charles G. Hiob III, 1990

Special Masters in Equity
Benjamin R. Cadwalader; Florio N.
Franetovich; Theodore Hart.

Juvenile Master
Lynn D. Tanner, Jr.

District Court Judges
Edwin H. W. Harlan, Jr., Administrative Judge,
1988; Lawrence S. Lanahan, Jr., 1995; John S.
Landbeck, Jr., 1995.
Edward Utz, Administrative Clerk.


clear space
clear space
white space

Please view image to verify text. To report an error, please contact us.
Maryland Manual, 1987-88
Volume 183, Page 592   View pdf image (33K)
 Jump to  

This web site is presented for reference purposes under the doctrine of fair use. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: The site may contain material from other sources which may be under copyright. Rights assessment, and full originating source citation, is the responsibility of the user.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

An Archives of Maryland electronic publication.
For information contact

©Copyright  October 06, 2023
Maryland State Archives