clear space clear space clear space white space
 r c h i v e s   o f   M a r y l a n d   O n l i n e

PLEASE NOTE: The searchable text below was computer generated and may contain typographical errors. Numerical typos are particularly troubling. Click “View pdf” to see the original document.

  Maryland State Archives | Index | Help | Search
search for:
clear space
white space
Maryland Manual, 1985-86
Volume 182, Page 530   View pdf image (33K)
 Jump to  
clear space clear space clear space white space

530/Maryland Manual

Economic Development Manager
Roger J. Venezia

Agricultural Preservation Advisory Board
Robert Knutsen, Chairperson

District Forestry Board
William Underwood, Chairperson; Gabrielle
DeMond; Karen Gillam; Joseph Grant; John
W. Warrington.

Department of Public Works
Barry G. Belford, Director

Roads Supervisor
John Knight

Road and Utility Inspectors
Ivar Johnson, Road Coordinator; William F.
Shiflett; Alan E. Stetson.

Engineering Services
Cliff Houston, Chief

Building Inspector
Men-in B. Dean

Electrical Board
Charles McCoy, 1985; G. Burton Powell,
1985; Philip Bathon, 1986; Howard F. Delp,
1986; Walter Granger, Electrical Inspector.

Electrical Inspector
Walter Granger

Plumbing Board
Donald Haffner; Charles 0. Moody; William
A. Sumner.

Plumbing Inspector
Willard G. Bryan, Sr.

Alcoholic Beverages

Board of Liquor License Commissioners
Virginia Davidson, Chairperson, 1987; Mary
Jane Startt, 1986; Willard E. dark, 1988.
Deborah A. Loller, Clerk.

Alcoholic Beverages Inspector
Herrel Curry, Jr.

Extension and Soil Conservation Services

Extension Agents
Theodore A. Haas; County Director; Bernar-
dine M. Coleman; Karen L. Gillam; Judith
A. Pugh; one vacancy.

Soil Conservation District Supervisors
Floyd Allred, Jr., Chairperson, 1986; Alfred
Workman, 1985; Edgar B. Hevelow, 1988;

Alfred Miller, 1989; Paul A. Raech (County
appointee); Theodore A. Haas, Extension
Agent, Secretary (non-voting). Barbara O'Neil,
Associate Supervisor; David H. Wilson, Dis-
trict Conservationist; Sue W. Miller, District


County Seat: La Plata 20646

Origin: Created by an Order in Council of 1658. It
is not to be confused -with an earlier Charles
County (1650-1653) known as Old Charles

Name: Named for Charles Calvert, son and heir of
Cecilius Calvert, Second Lord Baltimore.

Form of Government: County Commissioners

County Code: See Code of the Public Local Laws of
Charles County (1969) with supplements.

Area: 486.78 sq. miles (451.58 land, 35.20 water)

Population. 1900: 17,662; 1950: 23,415; 1960:
32,572; 1970: 47,678; 1980: 72,751.

Principal Incorporated Places (1980 census): La
Plata (2,480), Indian Head (1,600)

Principal Unincorporated Places (1980 census): St.
Charles (13,921), Waldorf (9,782), White Plains

Voter Registration, Oct. 8, 1984. Democrat:
20,579; Republican: 12,295; Other Parties and
Decline to Affiliate: 2,654; Total: 35,535.

Per Capita Income (1982): $8,745
State Forests: Doncaster (1,486 acres)

State Parks: Chapel Point (828 acres). Purse (148
acres), Smallwood (404 acres)

Colleges/Universities: Charles County Community
College, La Plata

Museums/Historical Societies: Historical Society
of Charles County, Inc., Port Tobacco 20677


clear space
clear space
white space

Please view image to verify text. To report an error, please contact us.
Maryland Manual, 1985-86
Volume 182, Page 530   View pdf image (33K)
 Jump to  

This web site is presented for reference purposes under the doctrine of fair use. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: The site may contain material from other sources which may be under copyright. Rights assessment, and full originating source citation, is the responsibility of the user.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

An Archives of Maryland electronic publication.
For information contact

©Copyright  October 06, 2023
Maryland State Archives