clear space clear space clear space white space
 r c h i v e s   o f   M a r y l a n d   O n l i n e

PLEASE NOTE: The searchable text below was computer generated and may contain typographical errors. Numerical typos are particularly troubling. Click “View pdf” to see the original document.

  Maryland State Archives | Index | Help | Search
search for:
clear space
white space
Maryland Manual, 1983-84
Volume 181, Page 498   View pdf image (33K)
 Jump to  
clear space clear space clear space white space

498'/Maryland Manual

The Charles County Commission has six mem-
bers who serve four-year terms (Code 1957, Art.
66B, sec. 3.02).

Planning Director: Appointed by the Planning
Commission for indefinite terms (Code 1957, Art.
66B, sec. 3.04).

Board of (Zoning) Appeals: Appointed by the
governing body of the county. In charter govern-
ment counties, the County Executive makes the
appointments subject to County Council confir-
mation. The Board consists of three or five mem-
bers who serve three-year terms. In Frederick
County, however, members may be appointed for
staggered terms varying from one to three years
(Code 1957, Art. 66B, sec. 4.07).

Agricultural (Land) Preservation Advisory Board:
Appointed by the county governing body. Each
board has five members who serve five-year
terms. At least three members must be commer-
cial farm owner-operators who earn a half or
more of their income from farming. The Board
advises the county governing body and the Mary-
land Agricultural Land Preservation Foundation
(Agriculture Article, sec. 2-504.1).

District Forestry Board: Appointed by the Direc-
tor of the State Forest and Park Service for three-
year terms. Members elect a chairperson and
vice-chairperson every two years (Natural Re-
sources Article, sec. 5-605).

Historic District Commission: Appointed by the
governing body of the county or Baltimore City.
The Commission consists of from three to seven
persons qualified by special interest, knowledge
or training in history, architecture, preservation,
urban design, or other relevant fields. Members
serve three-year terms and may be reappointed
(Code 1957, Art. 66B, sec. 8.03).

Sanitary Commission: Appointed by the
governing body of the county. The Commission
consists of three members who serve six-year
terms, one term expiring every two years. In
Allegany County the Commission consists of sev-
en members. In Charles County a three-member
Commission is appointed for four-year terms. In
Dorchester and Kent counties membership may
be enlarged to five persons. In Garrett and Som-
erset counties the Commission has five members
(Code 1957, Art. 43, sec. 649).

Economic Development Commission: Appointed
by resolution of the local governing authority.

Scenic or Wild Rivers Local Advisory Board:
Appointed by the Scenic and Wild Rivers Review
Board with the advice and consent of the local
governing body. As per Chapter 962, Acts of
1978, the local governing body may establish a
scenic river advisory board for each designated
scenic or wild nver within its jurisdiction. For
those rivers that flow through one county only,
the Board consists of two county residents who
own land contiguous to the river (except for the
Youghiogheny River where land owned must be
contiguous to that portion of the river between
Millers Run and the southern corporate limits of
Friendsville), two who do not own such land, one
representative of the local governing body, and
two members of the soil conservation district. For
those local Boards in which the river flows
through more than one county, each Board con-
sists of no more than two residents of each coun-
ty through which the scenic or wild river flows
who own land contiguous to the river, two who
do not own such land, two representatives of the
local governing body of the county through
which the river flows, and one representative of
each soil conservation district. Members select
their own chairperson (Natural Resources Article,
sec. 8-403).

Roads Board: In Allegany, Caroline, Dorchester,
Garrett, Queen Anne's, Somerset, and Worcester
counties the Board of County Commissioners, ex
officio, constitutes the Roads Board. In
Wicomico County the County Council, ex officio,
constitutes the Roads Board. In Frederick Coun-
ty the Roads Board consists of five members
appointed by the Commissioners for five-year
staggered terms, with one County Commissioner
serving as an ex officio, non-voting member. In
Carroll, Harford, and Washington counties, the
County Commissioners are responsible for county
roads, but no specific legislation constitutes them
a Roads Board. In Anne Arundel, Howard,
Prince George's, Montgomery, and Wicomico
counties. Departments of Public Works have
charge of roads and are responsible to the Coun-
ty Council. In Baltimore County the line of au-
thority runs to the County Administrative Offi-
cer, and thence to the County Executive. In
Calvert, Cecil, Charles, Kent, St. Mary's, and
Talbot counties, the State Roads Commission
takes care of county roads (Code 1957, Art. 25,
secs. 1, 25, 26, 34-50, 135-155; Art. 25A, sec. 5;
Art. 89B, sec. 220).

Roads Supervisor and Engineer: Appointed by the
governing body of the county (Code 1957, Art.
25, sec. 3).

Board of Electrical Examiners: Appointed by the


clear space
clear space
white space

Please view image to verify text. To report an error, please contact us.
Maryland Manual, 1983-84
Volume 181, Page 498   View pdf image (33K)
 Jump to  

This web site is presented for reference purposes under the doctrine of fair use. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: The site may contain material from other sources which may be under copyright. Rights assessment, and full originating source citation, is the responsibility of the user.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

An Archives of Maryland electronic publication.
For information contact

©Copyright  October 06, 2023
Maryland State Archives