clear space clear space clear space white space
 r c h i v e s   o f   M a r y l a n d   O n l i n e

PLEASE NOTE: The searchable text below was computer generated and may contain typographical errors. Numerical typos are particularly troubling. Click “View pdf” to see the original document.

  Maryland State Archives | Index | Help | Search
search for:
clear space
white space
Maryland Manual, 1981-82
Volume 180, Page 237   View pdf image (33K)
 Jump to  
clear space clear space clear space white space

State Agencies

He formulates and implements a program to car-
ry out the purposes of the Act for each designat-
ed river, including any other river designated sub-
sequently as part of the system. The Program
provides for wise management of resources on the
land and preservation of their scenic, agricultural,
and wild qualities.


Chairperson: K. King Burnett, 1981
Vice-Chairperson: William Minor Carter, 1983
Treasurer: Mrs. Thomas B. Eastman, 1981
Secretary: Herbert D. Morrison, 1984

Trustees: George 0. Kephart, 1981; Edwin
Wesely, 1981; Jack F. Witten, 1981; Brice M.
Clagett, 1982; Mrs. Holger B. Jansson, 1982;
Garrett Power, 1982; John C. Murphy, 1984.

David P. Miller, Director

501 St. Paul Place
Baltimore 21202 Telephone: 659-6440

The Maryland Environmental Trust was creat-
ed by Chapter 648, Acts of 1967, to conserve, im-
prove, stimulate, and perpetuate the aesthetic,
natural health, scenic, and cultural qualities of
the Maryland environment. The Trust is also to
encourage the people of the State to appreciate
the environment and to promote the continuing
interest in and study of such matters.

The Trust consists of fifteen trustees, of whom
twelve were originally appointed by the Governor
by and with the advice and consent of the Senate
for terms varying from one to four years. As the
initial terms expired, the trustees elected the suc-
cessors for four-year terms. The Governor, the
president of the Senate, and the speaker of the
House of Delegates serve as ex officio members.
The Commission selects its own officers, the Di-
rector of the Trust, and other employees as may
be necessary.

The Trust conducts other programs, including
the Conservation Easement Program.


Dr. Kenneth N. Weaver, Director

Merryman Hall
The Johns Hopkins University
Baltimore 21218 Telephone: 338-7066

Natural Resources/237

The Maryland Geological Survey was estab-
lished by Chapter 73, Acts of 1964, to supersede
the Department of Geology, Mines, and Water
Resources, created by Chapter 508, Acts of 1941,
which superseded the State Geological and Eco-
nomic Survey Advisory Commission, the Water
Front Commission, and the Water Resources
Commission. The Survey was placed in the De-
partment of Natural Resources by Chapter 154,
Acts of 1969.

The Department is headed by a Director ap-
pointed by the Governor upon the recommenda-
tion of the Secretary of Natural Resources. A
Commission composed of five members appointed
by the Secretary of Natural Resources acts in an
advisory capacity to the Director with respect to
matters under the jurisdiction of the Survey.

The Department supervises topographic, geo-
logic, hydrographic, and geophysical surveys. It
prepares topographic, geologic, and such other
maps as may be necessary to meet specific needs.
It makes reports on the extent and character of
the State's geologic, mineral, and water resources.
The Survey periodically publishes County Re-
ports, County and Quadrangle Atlases, Reports
of Investigations, Basic Data Reports, Bulletins,
Educational Series, and Information Circulars.
The Survey also publishes county topographic
maps, county geologic maps, a State geologic
map, a State planimetric map, and other miscella-
neous maps and charts.

In cooperation with the U.S. Geological Sur-
vey, the Department makes surveys of the water
resources of the State. It also cooperates with the
federal Survey in certain geological and geophysi-
cal mapping projects. The Survey carries out re-
search and investigations of coastal and estuarine
geology related to erosion and sedimentation in
the Bay and along the ocean shoreline.

The Division of Archeology was created by
Chapter 541, Acts of 1968, to engage in research
in the archeology of the State and to encourage
and coordinate archeological research and investi-
gation undertaken by other societies, institutions,
museums, and organizations. The same Act creat-
ed an Advisory Committee on Archeology to ad-
vise the Survey. The Division is headed by the
State Archeologist. The Survey, through its Divi-
sion of Archeology, grants permits for areheo-
logical investigation on lands owned or controlled
by the State to any person or institution who, in
the judgment of the Survey, is properly qualified
to conduct such investigations and excavations.


clear space
clear space
white space

Please view image to verify text. To report an error, please contact us.
Maryland Manual, 1981-82
Volume 180, Page 237   View pdf image (33K)
 Jump to  

This web site is presented for reference purposes under the doctrine of fair use. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: The site may contain material from other sources which may be under copyright. Rights assessment, and full originating source citation, is the responsibility of the user.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

An Archives of Maryland electronic publication.
For information contact

©Copyright  October 06, 2023
Maryland State Archives