clear space clear space clear space white space
 r c h i v e s   o f   M a r y l a n d   O n l i n e

PLEASE NOTE: The searchable text below was computer generated and may contain typographical errors. Numerical typos are particularly troubling. Click “View pdf” to see the original document.

  Maryland State Archives | Index | Help | Search
search for:
clear space
white space
Maryland Manual, 1981-82
Volume 180, Page 195   View pdf image (33K)
 Jump to  
clear space clear space clear space white space

State Agencies

ional Council. The remaining member is appointed
from a list submitted by the Maryland Association
of Counties. Terms of members are five years, ex-
cept for the member representing the Regional
Planning Council who sits only as long as he or
she remains a member of the Planning Council.

The Council reviews recommended regulations
for the establishment of standards for emissions
into the air for ambient air quality, and advises
the Department of Health and Mental Hygiene
prior to their submission to the Secretary of
Health and Mental Hygiene (Code 1957, Art. 43,
secs. 690-706).


Gladys L. Augustus, 1981; Rev. Edward L.
Coady, 1981; Thomas K. Crook, 1981; George
W. Hubley, Jr., 1981; Wallace E. Hutton,
1981; Marty Leyshon, 1981; F. Perry Smith,
Jr., 1981; Sgt. D. T. Yohman, 1981; Barbara
Elizabeth Haworth Brandt, 1982; Daniel B.
Brewster, 1982; Dr. John E. Davis, 1982;
Frances J. Fitch, 1982; Rev. Joseph M. Fowl-
kes, 1982; Dr. Abraham M. Schneidmuhl,
1982; William H. Stewart, 1982; Delores Street,
1982; Maj. James H. Campion, Jr., 1982;
Francis Marcey, 1983; Wendy Matters, 1983;
John-Clarence North, 1983; Henry E. Shelley,
1983; Stelios Spiliadis, 1983; George Beck,
M.D., 1983; Myron V. Wotring, 1983.

201 W. Preston Street
Baltimore 21201 Telephone: 383-2709

The Advisory Council on Alcoholism Control
was created in the Alcoholism Control Adminis-
tration by Chapter 746, Acts of 1976. The Coun-
cil consists of twenty-four members appointed by
the Governor for three-year terms and includes
representatives from the courts, police, probation
authorities, clergy, labor, management, beverage
control, the beverage industry, legal and medical
groups, and others. The Council, which selects its
own officers, advises the Administration on vari-
ous matters, including the formulation and execu-
tion of the comprehensive intoxication and alco-
holism control plan (Code 1957, Art. 2C, sec.


Chairperson: Hugo Moser, M.D.
Vice-Chairperson: Frank Sullivan

Health and Mental Hygiene/195

Mary Akerley, Adrian Bergin, Michael Brill, Dr.
Gwendolyn Cooke, Fred Dierks, Frederick J.
Distler, Renee Dixon, Richmond Dudley, Ruth
Epstein, Richard Gambrill, Charlotte Glick,
Edward Hawthorne, M.D., Martin Holtz,
George Lentz, M.D., Robert Levine, Ulysses
Lupien, Prank Mclntyre, Charles Mobley,
Meri D. Myers, Sheridan Neimark, Joseph
Onder, Gerald G. Pantaleo, Jr., Terry Peri,
James Phillips, Diana Pillas, Stanley R.
Platman, M.D., Kathleen Rollason, Carl Rose,
Charles Russell, Francis Sullivan, Margaret
Ulle, Harry Walker, Benjamin D. White, M.D.

201 West Preston Street
Baltimore 21201 Telephone: 383-3358

The Governor originally appointed the Devel-
opmental Disabilities Council in 1971 to carry
out the provisions of the Federal Developmental
Disabilities Services and Facilities Construction
Act as amended by the Developmental Disabil-
ities Services and Facilities Construction Amend-
ments of 1970. He reconstituted the Council in
1973 in order for the State to qualify for certain
federal grants to finance services and facilities for
the mentally retarded and persons with other de-
velopmental disabilities and for mental health
centers. The Council membership consists of one-
half parent-consumers, of which one-third must
be primary consumers, and one-half professionals.
Members serve at the pleasure of the Governor.


Chairperson: Dr. Wallace Mandell, 1983
Vice-Chairperson: George B. P. Ward, Jr., 1981

Ex officio members: David W. Hornbeck, State
Superintendant of Schools;
Stanley R. Platman,
M.D., Assistant Secretary for Mental Hygiene,
Mental Retardation, Addictions, and Develop-
mental Disabilities, Department of Health and
Mental Hygiene;
Harvey A. Epstein, Commis-
sioner of Labor and Industry:
Edwin R. Good-
lander. Commissioner of Correction; Arnold J.
Hopkins, Director, Division of Parole and Pro-
Henry P. Turner, Chairperson, Mary-
land Parole Commission;
Rex C. Smith, Direc-
tor, Juvenile Services Administration;
Richard L.
Hamilton, Director, Maryland Drug Abuse Ad-
William Donald Schaefer, Mayor
a/Baltimore City.

Appointed members: Anthony Swetz, Jr., 1981;
Max M. Zervitz, 1981; Louise A. Boswell, 1982;


clear space
clear space
white space

Please view image to verify text. To report an error, please contact us.
Maryland Manual, 1981-82
Volume 180, Page 195   View pdf image (33K)
 Jump to  

This web site is presented for reference purposes under the doctrine of fair use. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: The site may contain material from other sources which may be under copyright. Rights assessment, and full originating source citation, is the responsibility of the user.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

An Archives of Maryland electronic publication.
For information contact

©Copyright  October 06, 2023
Maryland State Archives