clear space clear space clear space white space
 r c h i v e s   o f   M a r y l a n d   O n l i n e

PLEASE NOTE: The searchable text below was computer generated and may contain typographical errors. Numerical typos are particularly troubling. Click “View pdf” to see the original document.

  Maryland State Archives | Index | Help | Search
search for:
clear space
white space
Maryland Manual, 1979-80
Volume 179, Page 53   View pdf image (33K)
 Jump to  
clear space clear space clear space white space


JAMES C. SIMPSON, Democrat, District 29. Born in Washington, D.C., May 14,
1931. Attended Washington, D.C., public schools. President of distribution compa-
ny. Served in the U.S. Marine Corps, 1951 - 1954. Chairman, Charles County Sani-
tary Commission, 1967-1970; president. Board of County Commissioners of
Charles County, 1970 - 1974. Member, Governor's Commission to Study Land Use,
1973. Past president, Waldorf Lions Club. Past deputy district governor, Lions dub.
Honorary member, Waldorf Jaycees. Member, American Legion; Knights of Colum-
bus; Optimist Club; Elks; Izaak Walton League; Charles County Chamber of Com-
merce. Selected Citizen of the Year by Waldorf Lions Club, 1974. Director, Mary-
land Bank & Trust Company and Maryland Capital Savings & Loan Association.
Member, Senate Finance Committee, Patuxent River Advisory Committee and
Maryland-Virginia Legislative Advisory Committee on the Chesapeake Bay. District
office: P.O. Box 188, Waldorf 20601; tel. 645-2235. Annapolis office: 316 Jama
Bldg., 21401; tel. 269-3780.

CHARLES H. SMELSER, Democrat, District 4. Born in Uniontown, Carroll
County, July 4, 1920. Attended Carroll County public schools; University of Mary-
land, B.S., 1942. Dairy farmer and real estate broker. Served with the U.S. Air Force
in World War II. Member, Frederick County Farm Bureau. Past president, Capitol
Milk Producers Cooperative, Inc. Director, New Windsor State Bank. Member,
Elks. Past president, Libertytown-Unionville Lions Club. Married. Member of the
House of Delegates, 1955 - 1963. Member, Legislative Council, 1959- 1960; Mary-
land Hospital Commission, 1963- 1967. Member of the Senate since 1967. District
office: Route 2, Union Bridge 21791; tel. 848-2770. Annapolis office: 100 James
Bldg., 21401; tel. 269-3991

MELVIN A. STEINBERG, Democrat, District 12. Born m Baltimore, October 4,
1933. Attended Baltimore public schools; University of Baltimore; University of
Baltimore Law School, J.D., 1955. Admitted to the Maryland Bar, 1955. Served
with the U.S. Navy, 1952-1957. Member, Drug Abuse Advisory Council; Task
Force to Study Campaign Financing. Chairman, Committee on Family Law and
Domestic Relations. Member, B'nai B'rith; Junior Chamber of Commerce; Safety
Traffic Club of Maryland; American Judicature Society; American and Baltimore
Bar Associations; Masons; Golden Eagle Square and Compass Club of Maryland;
Yedz Grotto, Greenspring Valley Synagogue. President, Baltimore Association for
Histadrut. Member, National Society of State Legislators. Married. Member of the
Senate since 1967. Chairman, Joint Committee on Ethics; vice-chairman. Judicial
Proceedings Committee. Chairman, Finance Committee since 1979. District office:
305 W. Chesapeake Ave., Suite 507, Towson 21204; tel. 821-5516. Annapolis office:
Pres. Wing, James Bldg., 21401; tel. 269-3747.

NORMAN R. STONE, JR., Democrat, District 9. Born in Baltimore, September 8,
1935, Attended Baltimore public schools; University of Baltimore; University of
Baltimore Law School, LL.B., 1960. Admitted to the Maryland Bar, 1960. Member,
Governor's Study Commission on Workmen's Compensation Laws. Past president,
North Point Improvement Association; past president St. Luke's Holy Name Soci-
ety; Advocate Beth Council Knights of Columbus. Member, Moose; North Point
Peninsula Community Coordinating Council Member of House of Delegates,
1963- 1967. Member of Senate since 1967. Chairman, Legislative Review Commit-
tee. Chairman and vice-chairman. Administrative, Executive and Legislative Review
Committee. Vice-chairman, Constitutional and Public Law Committee, 1975- 1978.
Chairman, Baltimore County Senate Delegation, 1968-1972. District office: 2322
Lodge Forest Dr., Baltimore 21219; tel. 288-5270. Annapolis office: 402 James Bldg.,
21401; tel. 269-3867.

clear space
clear space
white space

Please view image to verify text. To report an error, please contact us.
Maryland Manual, 1979-80
Volume 179, Page 53   View pdf image (33K)
 Jump to  

This web site is presented for reference purposes under the doctrine of fair use. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: The site may contain material from other sources which may be under copyright. Rights assessment, and full originating source citation, is the responsibility of the user.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

An Archives of Maryland electronic publication.
For information contact

©Copyright  October 06, 2023
Maryland State Archives