clear space clear space clear space white space
 r c h i v e s   o f   M a r y l a n d   O n l i n e

PLEASE NOTE: The searchable text below was computer generated and may contain typographical errors. Numerical typos are particularly troubling. Click “View pdf” to see the original document.

  Maryland State Archives | Index | Help | Search
search for:
clear space
white space
Maryland Manual, 1979-80
Volume 179, Page 383   View pdf image (33K)
 Jump to  
clear space clear space clear space white space

Judicial Units, Boards and Commissions
Second Appellate Circuit: Henry J. Knott;
George W. White, Jr.
Third Appellate Circuit: Odell H. Rosen; James
J. Cromwell
Fourth Appellate Circuit: Edgar H. Merkle, Sr.;
Andrew L. Haislip, Jr.
Fifth Appellate Circuit: George W. Settle; John
G. Rouse, Jr.
Sixth Appellate Circuit: Alice Pinderhughes; Roger
D. Redden
First Judicial Circuit:
Rex A. Taylor, Chairperson
Lionel Bennett, Raymond D. Coates, William D.
Gould, Charles E. Heame, Jr., Vacancy. Wil-
liam W. Travers, Calvin S. Dean, Betty K.
Gardner, John T. Handy, Walter Jones, Nor-
man Polk, Herman J. Stevens.
Second Judicial Circuit:
Doris P. Scott, Chairperson
Ernest S. Cookerly, L. dark Ewing, Roland C.
Kent, Joseph H. McLain, Frank C. Sherrard,
Howard Wood III, Robert E. Bryson, Hugh
M. Gordy. Fred E. Speck, James M. Wales,
William Biddle, Edwin B. Fockler III.
Third Judicial Circuit:
Robert F. Skutch, Jr., Chairperson
A. Freeborn Brown, Ralph E. Deitz, Francis N.
Iglehart, E. Scott Moore, J. Earle Plumhoff,
Richard A. Reid, Virginia R. Davis, Charles
G. Greason, Stanley E. Hayden, Shirley L.
Jones, John E. Sheehan, Dorothea M. Waters.
Fourth Judicial Circuit:
F. Perry Smith, Jr., Chairperson
W. Kennedy Boone III, lrving M. Einbinder, W.
Dwight Stover, John H. Urner, Thomas N,
Berry, William L. Huff, Lem E. Kirk, Joseph
H. McElwee, David H. Miller, M.D„ Willis T.
Shaffer, Hugh D. Shires.

Fifth Judicial Circuit:
Roy D. Cromwell, Chairperson
Richard G. Anderson, James K. Carmody, Wil-
liam B. Dulany, Michael E. Loney, James N.
Vaughan, John B. Wright, Edgar C. Cast, Jr.,
H. Logan Hoitgrewe, M.D., Allan W.
Roadcap, John Sundstrom, Thomas 0.
Tilghman, Jr,, Diane Rachuba.
Sixth Judicial Circuit:
Albert D. Brault, Acting Chairpermn
William M, Cauby, Thomas L Craven, Daniel
Warren Donohue, Robert L. Kay, James T.
Wharton, John R. Benedict, Isidor M.
Jacobson, Rosalie Reilly, Donald B. Rice, Her-
bert S. Schroeder, Ben C. Shaw.
Seventh Judicial Circuit:
John A. Buchanan, Chairperson
Paul J. Bailey, Thomas C. Hayden, Jr„ James J.
Lombardi, Thomas F. Mudd, Thomas G.
Axley, Paul D. Kerman, John M. Sine, Henry
Thomas Waring, Mabel B. Wilkinson, James T.
Marsh, Gary R. Alexander, Robert B.
Eighth Judicial Circuit:
Marshall M. Meyer, Chairperson
Herbert J. Belgrad, Maurice Braverman, William
R. Dorsey III, Frederick J. Green, Jr., M. King
Hill, Jr., Marvin B. Steinberg, Merrill L. Bank,
Pearl Cole Brackett, Sidney Epstein, Raymond
V. Haysbert, Sr., Betty R. Connor, 1. D. Shapiro.
By Executive Orders of July 6, 1970, and July 17,
1970, respectively, the Governor of Maryland creat-
ed the Governor's Commission on Appellate Judi-
cial Selection and the Governor's Commissions on
Trial Court Judicial Selection.
On December 18, 1974, the Governor issued an
Executive Order restructuring the eight Trial Court
Judicial Nominating Commissions and the Appel-
late Court Judicial Nominating Commission. Most
of the changes included in the 1974 Order were
based on recommendations made by the Maryland
State Bar Association, Inc.
An additional change directly effecting the Ad-
ministrative Office of the Courts was the designa-
tion of the State Court Administrator as ex officio
secretary of all nine nominating commissions, with

clear space
clear space
white space

Please view image to verify text. To report an error, please contact us.
Maryland Manual, 1979-80
Volume 179, Page 383   View pdf image (33K)
 Jump to  

This web site is presented for reference purposes under the doctrine of fair use. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: The site may contain material from other sources which may be under copyright. Rights assessment, and full originating source citation, is the responsibility of the user.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

An Archives of Maryland electronic publication.
For information contact

©Copyright  October 06, 2023
Maryland State Archives