clear space clear space clear space white space
 r c h i v e s   o f   M a r y l a n d   O n l i n e

PLEASE NOTE: The searchable text below was computer generated and may contain typographical errors. Numerical typos are particularly troubling. Click “View pdf” to see the original document.

  Maryland State Archives | Index | Help | Search
search for:
clear space
white space
Maryland Manual, 1979-80
Volume 179, Page 340   View pdf image (33K)
 Jump to  
clear space clear space clear space white space

340/Mary land Manual
walls" for Wicomico and Worcester counties. The
Board of Trustees consists of seven members
appointed by the Governor with the advice and
consent of the Senate. One member must repre-
sent the Board, of Education of each of the two
counties. Members serve six-year terms (Code Ed-
ucation Article, sec. 16-302 (a)).
Chairperson: Charles J. Krysiak, 1980
Clement R. Mercaldo, 1991; Maurice Cardin,
1981; William R. Hughes, 1981; Francis J.
Valle, 1982; Harold Lee Frankel, 1989; Joseph
1. Paper, 1989; Edward A. Palamaro, 1990.
Virginia R. Bames, Secretary and Director of Ad-
Leonard Reichlyn, Director of Claims
Robert L. Dodson, Chief, Hearing Division
108 E. Lexington Street
Baltimore 21202 Telephone: 383-4700
The Workmen's Compensation Commission,
created by Chapter 800, Acts of 1914, as the
State Industrial Accident Commission, received
its present name by Chapter 584, Acts of 1957.
Under the provisions of Chapter 238, Acts of
1961, the Commission was increased from five to
seven members, all of whom are appointed by the
Governor with the advice and consent of the Sen-
ate for terms of twelve years.
Like its predecessor, the Commission
administers the Workmen's Compensation Law.
It hears contested cases and holds hearings
throughout the State; it receives reports of
acridents and adjudicates claims for compensa-
tion arising under the law; and it investigates
companies and firms that fail to carry insurance
under the terms of the Act. The Chairperson sits
on the trial of cases when his administrative and
executive functions permit (Code 1957, Art. 101,
sees. 1, 2, 5, 16, 38-40).
In recent years the General Assembly has made
many important changes in the Workmen's Com-
pensation Act. Among the most significant have
been acts increasing maximum temporary disabili-
ty payment to one hundred percent of State aver-
age weekly wage; increasing maximum permanent
total disability payments to one hundred percent
of State average weekly wage; and increasing the
maximum total payable for total disability to

$45,000, provided, however, that if the employee's
total disability shall continue after a total
of $45,000 has been paid, then further weekly
payments at the rate previously paid shall be paid
to him during such disability. In 1965 the Serious
Disability Section was added to the Act. This
provides for a greater amount and rate of com-
pensation for a workman who sustains a serious
disability, as defined by the Law (Code 1957,
Art. 101, sees. 21-36, 66).
Chairperson: lames Frenkil, M.D., 1983
J. Howard Frantz, M.D., 1979; John F. Schaeffer,
M.D., 1981
The Medical Board for Occupational Diseases
was established by Chapter 465, Acts of 1939.
The Governor appoints the members of the
Board for six-year terms with the approval of the
Senate from lists of nominees submitted by the
deans of the schools of medicine of the University
of Maryland, The Johns Hopkins University, and
the Medical and Chirugical Faculty of Maryland.
Each of these agencies submits a list of three
persons, two of whom are experienced in occupa-
tional diseases and one of whom is an experi-
enced physician in good professional standing.
Two must have had at least five years practice in
the treating, diagnosis, and care of industrial
diseases, and a third must have been trained in
roentgenology and must have had five years prac-
tice and experience. The Governor designates the
Chairperson of the Board. The Board hears and
adjudicates all claims for compensation for dis-
ability caused by an occupational disease. The
decisions of the Board are subject to review by
the Workmen's Compensation Commission (Code
1957, Art. 101, sees. 22-29).
Chairperson: Clement R. Mercaldo
Sidney Blum, Thomas E. Cinnamond, Ada Ev-
ans, Dominic N. Fomaro, Sol J. Friedman,
John S. Hebb III, John J. Kent, Charles J.
Krysiak, Eli M. Lippman, Douglas Macnab,
Alfred M. Forth, Maurice J. Pressman, Nor-
man R. Stone, Jr., Joseph P. Wiley .
108 E. Lexington Street
Baltimore 21202 Telephone: 383-4700

clear space
clear space
white space

Please view image to verify text. To report an error, please contact us.
Maryland Manual, 1979-80
Volume 179, Page 340   View pdf image (33K)
 Jump to  

This web site is presented for reference purposes under the doctrine of fair use. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: The site may contain material from other sources which may be under copyright. Rights assessment, and full originating source citation, is the responsibility of the user.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

An Archives of Maryland electronic publication.
For information contact

©Copyright  August 02, 2018
Maryland State Archives