clear space clear space clear space white space
 r c h i v e s   o f   M a r y l a n d   O n l i n e

PLEASE NOTE: The searchable text below was computer generated and may contain typographical errors. Numerical typos are particularly troubling. Click “View pdf” to see the original document.

  Maryland State Archives | Index | Help | Search
search for:
clear space
white space
Maryland Manual, 1979-80
Volume 179, Page 268   View pdf image (33K)
 Jump to  
clear space clear space clear space white space

L. A. Kimball, Deputy Administrator
Raymond V. Bartlett, Director of Public Relations
Joseph V. Garvey, Resident Manager
Bruce Frame, Director of Marketing
Robert J. Murray, Project Manager
Norman D. Hall, Director
109 E. Redwood Street
Baltimore 21201 Telephone: 383-3434
The Mass Transit Administration was created
by Chapter 526, Acts of 1970, as amended by
Chapter 253, Acts of 1971, as part of the Mary-
land Department of Transportation. As the pub-
lic transit arm of the Department, the Mass
Transit Administration operates and maintains
the public bus system and proceeds with the de-
velopment and implementation of the Baltimore
Region Rapid Transit System. These operational
and developmental activities are conducted within
the Mass Transit Administration's metropolitan
service area, which encompasses Anne Anindel
County, Baltimore City, and Baltimore County.
In addition, the Mass Transit Administration
administers a program to provide technical and
financial assistance for the development or im-
provement of public transportation facilities in
small urban areas throughout the State of Mary-
Prior to its incorporation into the Department
of Transportation in July of 1971, the Mass
Transit Administration functioned as the Metro-
politan Transit Authority, which was originally
established by Chapter 160, Acts of 1969,
succeeding a former Authority created by Chap-
ter 670, Acts of 1961.
The Mass Transit Administration fleet, which
numbers over 1,000 buses, travels in excess of 26
million miles a year throughout the metropolitan
service area.
The Section A rapid transit system is the first
segment of the Baltimore Region Rapid Transit
System to be implemented. Section A extends

from Reisterstown Road Plaza to Charles Center
(Code Transportation Article, sees. 7-101 through
Charles H. Smith, Administrator
P. 0. Box 8755
Baltimore-Washington International Airport
Baltimore 21240 Telephone: 787-7311
The Railroad Administration was formed in
1978 (Executive Order 01.01.1978.11). Its duties
are to preserve and improve present railroad
transportation facilities and services in Maryland
and to plan for and provide new facilities and
services, wherever possible.
The Department's present involvement in the
State's railroad transportation system includes:
Funding of rehabilitation work on freight lines in
Western Maryland and on the Eastern Shore; ad-
ministering operating subsidies for four passenger
services, including commuter service to Washing-
ton from Brunswick and from Harford and Cecil
counties to Baltimore and Washington; responsi-
bility for a $14.3 million capital improvement
program on the Brunswick-Washington and
Baltimore-Washington B&O commuter lines, in-
cluding purchase of additional equipment and
renovation work in state areas; in cooperation
with the federal Northeast Rail Corridor pro-
gram, coordinating plans for improvements to
railroad lines and services in the Baltimore re-
gion; working closely with other state agencies,
local governments, and railroad transportation
providers and users to enhance the role of
railroads in economic and industrial development
throughout the State; and monitoring and review-
ing proposals for railroad freight service changes
or abandonments that would affect local commu-
nities and shippers.
Chairperson: Harry Hughes, Governor
Ex officio members: J. Joseph Curran, Jr.,
Chairperson of the Judicial Proceedings Commit-
tee of the Senate; Helen L. Koss, Chairperson of
the Committee on Constitutional and Adminis-
trative Law, House of Delegates; Arthur
Alperstein, Chairperson of the Motor Vehicle
Subcommittee of the Judiciary Committee,
House of Delegates; James J. O'Donnell, Secre-
tary of Transportation; Gordon C. Karnka, Sec-
retary of Public Safety and Correctional Services;

clear space
clear space
white space

Please view image to verify text. To report an error, please contact us.
Maryland Manual, 1979-80
Volume 179, Page 268   View pdf image (33K)
 Jump to  

This web site is presented for reference purposes under the doctrine of fair use. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: The site may contain material from other sources which may be under copyright. Rights assessment, and full originating source citation, is the responsibility of the user.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

An Archives of Maryland electronic publication.
For information contact

©Copyright  October 06, 2023
Maryland State Archives