clear space clear space clear space white space
 r c h i v e s   o f   M a r y l a n d   O n l i n e

PLEASE NOTE: The searchable text below was computer generated and may contain typographical errors. Numerical typos are particularly troubling. Click “View pdf” to see the original document.

  Maryland State Archives | Index | Help | Search
search for:
clear space
white space
Maryland Manual, 1979-80
Volume 179, Page 174   View pdf image (33K)
 Jump to  
clear space clear space clear space white space

of three names submitted at least three months
prior to the date for making appointments by the
Monumental Medical Society of Baltimore, the
Medical and Chirurgical Faculty of Maryland,
the faculty of the University of Maryland School
of Medicine, and the faculty of The Johns Hop-
kins University Medical Institutions. If the list is
not submitted, the Governor shall appoint, at his
sole discretion, a member who is a licensed medi-
cal physician knowledgeable in the diagnosis and
treatment of hereditary disorders.

The Secretary of the Department of Health and
Mental Hygiene appoints five representatives of
the Department of Mental Hygiene to serve as ex
offido, non-voting members of the Commission.
One of these representatives must represent the
Maryland Health Planning and Development

After the first year the Commission shall
choose from among its number a chairperson and
a vice-chairperson by majority vote, who shall
hold their respective offices for two years. Such
officers may succeed themselves.

The Commission aids in the gathering and the
dissemination of information on the treatment of
hereditary disorders in the State. It also
establishes and promulgates rules, regulations,
and standards for the detection and management
of hereditary disorders. It reevaluates on a contin-
uous basis the need for and efficiency of State
programs on hereditary disorders. The Commis-
sion also institutes and supervises educational
programs and counseling on the subject of heredi-
tary disorders and its treatment and prevention
for the public and providers of health services.
The Commission may utilize existing programs
and groups for its informational purposes, wheth-
er or not such programs and groups are govern-

The Commission is to evalute the entire heredi-
tary disease program annually and report such
evaluations along with recommendations to the
Governor (Code 1957, Art. 43, sees. 814-821;
Art. 62, sec. 6A).


Chairperson: R. Russell Patterson, M.D., 1980

Torrey C. Brown, M.D., 1979; Edward Hopf, M.
D., 1979; Lou Stoler, 1979; Joseph A. Mead,
Jr., M.D., 1980; Charles J. Morgan, 1980;
Donald Rains, 1980; John W. Southard, M.D.,

1980; Albert M. Antlitz, 1981; Elijah Saunders,
M.D., 1981; Carmalyn Simiraglia, 1981; C. C.
Haley, Jr„ 1982; John N. Hornbaker, Jr., M.
D„ 1982; Gayle S. Ulewicz, 1982.

The Commission on High Blood Pressure was
created by Chapter 792, Acts of 1976. The Com-
mission consists of fourteen members appointed
by the Governor for terms of four years. Six
members are appointed at his discretion while the
remaining eight members represent the American
Heart Association, Maryland Affiliate, Inc., the
Citizens Advisory Council of the Maryland Com-
prehensive Health Planning Agency, the Medical
and Chirurgical Faculty of Maryland, the Depart-
ment of Health and Mental Hygiene, the Mary-
land Hospital Association, the Maryland Nurses
Association, and the Monumental City Medical

The Commission establishes guidelines for the
effective management and treatment of high
blood pressure (Code 1957, Art. 43, sees.


Chairperson: Thomas A. Towers

Richard C. Ahiberg, Theodore Bishop, Leiand C.
Bradley, Captain Bruce D. Diehl, Paul R. Far-
ragut, Ronald L. Johnson, Paul W. McKee, Jo-
seph McMahon, Thomas J. Peddicord, Gordon
N. Wilcox, Vacancy

201 W. Preston Street
Baltimore 21201 Telephone: 383-2727

The Interagency Noise Control Committee,
established by Chapter 287, Acts of 1974,
consists of one member appointed by the Gov-
ernor from his staff, one member representing
the Department of Health and Mental Hygiene
who is designated as the chairperson, and
members of the Department of State Planning,
the Department of Transportation, the Depart-
ment of Natural Resources, and any other de-
partment that enforces regulations respecting

The Committee meets to receive reports of
progress, problems, and proposed plans from
all member agencies on the adequacy of pres-
ent and future efforts to achieve State environ-
mental noise standards and makes
recommendations for new or revised regulations
or legislation (Code 1957, Art. 43, sec. 827).

clear space
clear space
white space

Please view image to verify text. To report an error, please contact us.
Maryland Manual, 1979-80
Volume 179, Page 174   View pdf image (33K)
 Jump to  

This web site is presented for reference purposes under the doctrine of fair use. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: The site may contain material from other sources which may be under copyright. Rights assessment, and full originating source citation, is the responsibility of the user.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

An Archives of Maryland electronic publication.
For information contact

©Copyright  October 06, 2023
Maryland State Archives