clear space clear space clear space white space
 r c h i v e s   o f   M a r y l a n d   O n l i n e

PLEASE NOTE: The searchable text below was computer generated and may contain typographical errors. Numerical typos are particularly troubling. Click “View pdf” to see the original document.

  Maryland State Archives | Index | Help | Search
search for:
clear space
white space
Maryland Manual, 1979-80
Volume 179, Page 167   View pdf image (33K)
 Jump to  
clear space clear space clear space white space


Chairperson: Douglas H. Moore, 1981

Raymond T. Harcum, 1979; Robert L. Karwacki,
1979; Joseph H. Morton, 1979; Thomas
Beyard, 1979; Alma Rand^ll, 1979; Alvin
Aisenberg, D.D.S., 1980; Pau^ A. Dorf, 1980;
Eric Fine, M.D., 1980; Capt. Stanley 1.
Kaplow, 1980; John Patterson, 1980; Alan E.
Waidman, 1980; John H. Heller, 1981; Vera
M. McCullough, 1981; Ashley Kent Reed,
1981; Myrna S. Tepper, 1981; Jacquese Triggs,

This Board, originally created by Chapter 126,
Acts of 1966, had its membership enlarged by
Chapter 22, Acts of 1974, effective July 1, 1974.
The Advisory Board consists of six additional
members appointed by the Secretary of Health
and Mental Hygiene from the general public.
Three of these additional members must be be-
tween the ages of sixteen and twenty-five and at
least one must have been under the jurisdiction of
the Department of Juvenile Services. The Board
recommends to the Director of the Juvenile
Services Administration policies and programs
designed to improve the State's juvenile services.
The Board also participates in interpreting the
objectives of the Administration to the public as
well as in planning for the development and use
of all available resources for the promotion of the
needs of the Administration (Code 1957, Art.
52A, sec. 3).


Salvatore Donohue, M.D., 1979; Edward J.
McDonnell, M.D., 1979; Samuel Lichter, 1980;
Lawrence Misanick, M.D., 1980; John A.
Moody, 1980; Thomas M. Holcomb, M.D.,
1981; Marjorie Faweett, 1982; Laurence E.
Holder, M.D„ 1982; Virginia Layfield, 1982;
Janice M. McCann, 1982; Stephen Loescher,

201 W. Preston Street
Baltimore 21201 Telephone: 383-2517

The Advisory Board on Hospital Licensing,
originally established in 1945, consists of nine
members appointed by the Secretary of Health
and Mental Hygiene for five-year terms (Chapter
866, Acts of 1965). Three members are appointed
from a list submitted by the Medical and
Chirurgical Faculty of Maryland, one from a list
submitted by the Maryland Pharmaceutical

Association, four from a list submitted by the
Hospital Council of Maryland, Inc., and one
appointed from a list submitted by the Maryland
Nursing Home Association, Inc., who must be an
owner or administrator of a licensed nursing
home. "The list of names submitted by the Hospi-
tal Council of Maryland, Inc., must include a
trustee of a Maryland hospital and a member of
the Medical and Chirurgical Faculty of Maryland
engaged in the private practice of medicine. At
least two members must reside in Baltimore City,
and at least two in the counties.

The Board assists in the issuance or denial of
licenses, the establishment of minimum
regulations, and the approval of applications for
hospital construction (Code 1957, Art. 43, sec.


Daniel B. Brewster, 1979; Beverly D. Dopkin,
1979; Dixie J. Miller, 1979; Alexander R.
Martick, 1979; Elizabeth Nelson, 1979; Mi-
chael R. Peterson, 1979; Abraham M.
Schneidmuhl, 1979; Delores Street, 1979; Maj.
Lauren Lydie, 1980; Jerome H. Markhoff,
1980; Wendy Matters, 1980; John-Clarence
North, 1980; Henry E. Shelley, 1980; Stelios
Spiliadis, 1980; Thomas N. Walker, 1980; My-
ron V. Wotring, 1980; Gladys L. Augustus,
1981; Rev. Edward L. Coady, 1981; Thomas
K. Crook, 1981; Jane 1. Haymaker, 1981;
Ueorge W. Hubley, Jr., 1981; Wallace E.
Button, 1981; F. Perry Smith, Ji., 1981; Sgt.
D. T. Yohman, 1981.

"The Advisory Council on Alcoholism Control
was created in the Alcoholism Control Adminis-
tration by Chapter 746, Acts of 1976. The
Council consists of twenty-four members
appointed by the Governor for three-year terms.
The Council includes representatives from the
courts, police, probation officers, clergy, labor,
management, beverage control, the beverage in-
dustry, legal and medical groups, and others.
The Council selects its own officers and advises
the Administration, including the formulation
and execution of the comprehensive intoxication
and alcoholism control plan (Code 1957, Art.
2C, see. 501),


Chairperson: Wallace Mandell, 1980
Vice-Chairperson: George B. P. Ward, Jr.

clear space
clear space
white space

Please view image to verify text. To report an error, please contact us.
Maryland Manual, 1979-80
Volume 179, Page 167   View pdf image (33K)
 Jump to  

This web site is presented for reference purposes under the doctrine of fair use. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: The site may contain material from other sources which may be under copyright. Rights assessment, and full originating source citation, is the responsibility of the user.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

An Archives of Maryland electronic publication.
For information contact

©Copyright  August 02, 2018
Maryland State Archives