clear space clear space clear space white space
 r c h i v e s   o f   M a r y l a n d   O n l i n e

PLEASE NOTE: The searchable text below was computer generated and may contain typographical errors. Numerical typos are particularly troubling. Click “View pdf” to see the original document.

  Maryland State Archives | Index | Help | Search
search for:
clear space
white space
Maryland Manual, 1977-78
Volume 178, Page 436   View pdf image (33K)
 Jump to  
clear space clear space clear space white space

Board of Electrical Examiners
and Supervisors"'
Ronald Smith, President 1977
Charles Eyler 1977
Norman P. Kinslow 1977
Plumbing Board (190)
Ralph D. Pryor, Chairman 1977
A. Vernon Davis 1977
R. L. Kershner 1977
Frederick R. Sword 1977
James Rooney, ex officio
Plumbing Inspector
Robert Trott
Board of License Commissioners
Woodrow W. Rippeon, Chairman 1977
Lynn W. Dick 1979
Lawrence Springer 1981
Finance Officer
James R. Young
Earl J. Smith
County Engineer"'
Glenn Dull
Washington County School
Building Commission"'
Mrs. Richard Ott, Chairperson
James Adams
Robert Dudley
Woodrow Hawbecker
Burton R. Hoffman, Board of
County Commissioners
R. Lee Downey, Board of County
Roland G. Hebb, School Board
Nancy C. Boyer, School Board
Transportation Commission"'
Ann McDonald, Chairman
William J. Dwyer, Board of
County Commissioners
Joe Griffith, Resident Manager
Extension Agents
Richard C. Shukraft
Merritt N. Pope, Jr.
Kenneth E. Wisner
Morris E. Diefenderfer
Mary Ellen J. Dorsey
Adele F. McElwee
Soil Conservation District
Louis G. P. DeBaugh, Chairman 1979
L. Donald Spickler, Vice Chairman 1978
Ralph A. McCauley, Treasurer 1977
Joseph K. Scott (194)
Russell Mizell 1980
Merritt N. Pope, Extension
Agent, Secretary
County Seat: Salisbury 21801
Area: 395 sq. miles

Origin and Name of the County:
Named after the river of that name, from
the Indian words for house (wicko) and
building (mekee), apparently referring to an
Indian town on the banks of the river. Pro-
vision for the creation of this County was
made by the Constitution of 1867 (Article
XIII, Sections 2-6).
Population, 1970:
Wicomico County ............. 54,236
Dist. 1, Barren Creek 1,459
Dist. 2, Quantico 964
Dist. 3, Tyaskin 1,195
Dist. 4, Pittsburg 1,823
Dist. 5, Parsons 12,543
Dist. 6, Dennis 721
Dist. 7, Trappe 1,188
Dist. 8, Nutters 2,239
Dist. 9, Salisbury 9,960
Dist. 10, Sharptown 1,197
Dist. 11, Delmar 2,192
Dist. 12, Nanticoke 1,103
Dist. 13, Camden 11,143
Dist. 14, Willards 1,084
Dist. 15, Hebron 1,558
Dist. 16, Fruitland 3,867
Estimated Population, 1976: 59,100
Court Terms:
Circuit Court — Second Monday in March
and September.
Orphans' Court Days — Every Tuesday.
Courthouse Information Number: 749-5127
Resident Judge, Circuit Court
Richard M. Pollitt 1989
Judge, District Court
Robert W. Dallas 1983
Frank Udoff, Administrative
William R. Wilson, Jr., Clerk
Clerk. Circuit Court
A. James Smith 1978
State's Attorney
Richard D. Warren 1979
189 Appointed by the Board of County Commissioners, 2
for 2-year terms, and 1 who is to be President of a vol-
unteer fire company, for the term of his presidency (Ch.
328, Acts of 1951)
190 Composed of 5 members appointed by the Board of
County Commissioners (Ch. 160, Acts of 1971). The Board
appoints the Inspector.
191 Appointed by the Board of County Commissioners.
192 Appointed by the Governor upon recommendation of
the Board of County Commissioners.
i" Established by Chapter 618, Acts of 1971.
"" County appointee.

clear space
clear space
white space

Please view image to verify text. To report an error, please contact us.
Maryland Manual, 1977-78
Volume 178, Page 436   View pdf image (33K)
 Jump to  

This web site is presented for reference purposes under the doctrine of fair use. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: The site may contain material from other sources which may be under copyright. Rights assessment, and full originating source citation, is the responsibility of the user.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

An Archives of Maryland electronic publication.
For information contact

©Copyright  October 06, 2023
Maryland State Archives