clear space clear space clear space white space
 r c h i v e s   o f   M a r y l a n d   O n l i n e

PLEASE NOTE: The searchable text below was computer generated and may contain typographical errors. Numerical typos are particularly troubling. Click “View pdf” to see the original document.

  Maryland State Archives | Index | Help | Search
search for:
clear space
white space
Maryland Manual, 1973-74
Volume 176, Page 255   View pdf image (33K)
 Jump to  
clear space clear space clear space white space

Chairman: Reginald A. Asplen, 1975
Vice Chairman: Theodore N. Clark, 1975
Frank Canizzaro, Jr., 1975; Bruce R. Harrison, 1975;
Ann Schissler, 1975.
Willard A. Morris, State Administrator of Election Laws, 1975
140 Main Street, Annapolis 21401 Telephone: 267-5711
The State Administrative Board of Election Laws, created by
Chapter 555, Acts of 1969, exercises supervision over the conduct of
elections in the State.
The Board consists of five members appointed by the Governor by
and with the advice and consent of the Senate for four year terms.
Three members must be of the same political party as the Governor,
while two members represent the party which received the second
greatest number of votes in the most recent gubernatorial election.
The Board selects its own officers.
The Governor also appoints the State Administrator of Election
Laws for a six-year term.
The Board assumed all powers and duties formerly vested in the
Secretary of State with regards to elections. It adopts rules and regu-
lations to assist the local Boards of Supervisors of Elections with
regards to elections, voting, and voter registration. The Board is to
keep election records and make an annual report to the General
Assembly (Code 1957, 1971 Repl. Vol., Art. 33, sees. 1A-I, 18-1, 18-2).
Richard A. Batterton, Director
Fifth Regiment Armory, Baltimore 21201 Telephone: 383-6810
The Governor established this office by Executive Order in 1973
for the purpose of carrying out the mandatory allotment program
to cope with the energy shortage in the State. The Office is staffed
with personnel loaned from other State agencies and is to set up
guidelines and rules for the conservation of energy. The State will
be able to command ten percent of all of the distillate fuel in the
State which can be allocated on the basis of hardship cases.
Appointed by the Governor: William Walsh, 1975; William F.
Mosner, 1975.
Appointed by the President of the Senate: Alfred L. Scanlan,
Appointed by the Speaker of the House of Delegates: Delia B.
Spencer, 1975.
Appointed by the Chief Judge of the Court of Appeals: James H.
Whitney, 1975.
The Financial Disclosure Advisory Board was created by Chapter 3,
Acts of the Special Session of 1973, to oversee the law requiring the
public disclosure of the personal finances of public officials in Mary-
The Board consists of five members. Two are appointed by the Gov-
ernor, one by the President of the Senate, one by the Speaker of the
House of Delegates, and one who is not a judge, appointed by the
Chief Judge of the Court of Appeals. One appointee of the Governor

clear space
clear space
white space

Please view image to verify text. To report an error, please contact us.
Maryland Manual, 1973-74
Volume 176, Page 255   View pdf image (33K)
 Jump to  

This web site is presented for reference purposes under the doctrine of fair use. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: The site may contain material from other sources which may be under copyright. Rights assessment, and full originating source citation, is the responsibility of the user.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

An Archives of Maryland electronic publication.
For information contact

©Copyright  October 06, 2023
Maryland State Archives