clear space clear space clear space white space
 r c h i v e s   o f   M a r y l a n d   O n l i n e

PLEASE NOTE: The searchable text below was computer generated and may contain typographical errors. Numerical typos are particularly troubling. Click “View pdf” to see the original document.

  Maryland State Archives | Index | Help | Search
search for:
clear space
white space
Maryland Manual, 1973-74
Volume 176, Page 130   View pdf image (33K)
 Jump to  
clear space clear space clear space white space

which will provide enjoyment for the general public through a setting
of natural solitude (Natural Resources Article, sees. 8-401 to 8-404).
Chairman: John J. McMullen, Jr., 1977
Allegany County Representative: William L. Geppert, 1975
Garrett County Representative: John Adams, Jr., 1979
Savage River Dam, Westernport 21562 Telephone: 359-3201
The Upper Potomac River Commission, established in 1935, consists
of three members appointed for six-year terms. The Governor appoints
the Chairman, the Commissioners of Allegany County appoint a
second member, and the Commissioners of Garrett County appoint a
third. The Commission has jurisdiction over the water resources of
Allegany County and of Election District Number 4 (Bloomington) in
Garrett County. In July, 1953, the Commission took charge of the
Savage River Dam, erected by the Army Corps of Engineers (Acts
1935, chap. 409; Acts 1936, chap. 143; Acts 1947, chap. 165).
Chairman: George S. Wills, 1977
Vice Chairman: Mrs. Thomas B. Eastman, 1976
Treasurer: Charles R. Anderson, 1976
Secretary: Richard W. Emory, Jr., 1974
Ex officio members: Marvin Mandel, Governor of Maryland; Julian
Lapides, designate of William S. James, President of the Senate;
John Hanson Briscoe, Speaker of the House of Delegates.
Trustees: Jeanette Leath, 1974; Mrs. J. M. P. Wright, 1974; John E.
dark, 1975; Lucile Roeder, 1975; Charles E. Wise, Jr., 1975;
K. King Burnett, 1976; Mrs. T. Hughlett Henry, Jr., 1977; Milton
Kaufmann, 1977.
Paul Allen, Director
Margaret R. Jones, Administrative Assistant
8 E. Mulberry Street, Baltimore 21202 Telephone: 383-4264
The Maryland Environmental Trust was created by Chapter 648,
Acts of 1967, to conserve, improve, stimulate and perpetuate the
aesthetic, natural health, scenic and cultural qualities of the Mary-
land environment. The Trust is also to encourage the people of the
State to do so and to promote the continuing interest in and study
in such matters.
The Trust consists of fifteen trustees of whom twelve were origi-
nally appointed by the Governor by and with the advice and consent
of the Senate for terms varying from one to four years. As the initial
terms expired, the trustees elected the successors for four year terms.
The Governor, the President of the Senate and the Speaker of the
House of Delegates serve as ex officio members. The Commission sel-
ects its own officers, the Director of the Trust, and other employees as
may be necessary.
The Trust absorbed and expanded the functions and activities of
the Governor's Committee to Keep Maryland Beautiful (Natural Re-
sources Article, sees. 3-201 to 3-211).
Appropriations 1973 1974
General Funds ................. $47,693 $52,589
Staff: 3.

clear space
clear space
white space

Please view image to verify text. To report an error, please contact us.
Maryland Manual, 1973-74
Volume 176, Page 130   View pdf image (33K)
 Jump to  

This web site is presented for reference purposes under the doctrine of fair use. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: The site may contain material from other sources which may be under copyright. Rights assessment, and full originating source citation, is the responsibility of the user.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

An Archives of Maryland electronic publication.
For information contact

©Copyright  October 06, 2023
Maryland State Archives