clear space clear space clear space white space
 r c h i v e s   o f   M a r y l a n d   O n l i n e

PLEASE NOTE: The searchable text below was computer generated and may contain typographical errors. Numerical typos are particularly troubling. Click “View pdf” to see the original document.

  Maryland State Archives | Index | Help | Search
search for:
clear space
white space
Maryland Manual, 1971-72
Volume 175, Page 231   View pdf image (33K)
 Jump to  
clear space clear space clear space white space


General Funds - -
Federal Funds



Staff: 1971, 39; 1972, 41.



Chairman: Arthur G. Murphy, Sr.
Milton B. Allen, Dale Anderson, George R. Aud, R. Charles Avara,
Jack F. Browning, Francis B. Burch, Joseph G. Cannon, Leighton
V. Dudley, James H. Edwards, Ellison W. Ensor, Dulany Foster,
John J. Garrity, William W. Greenhaigh, Robert Hilson, Colonel
Robert J. Lally, Mrs. Roy Lincoln, Arthur A. Marshall, Jr„ David
T. Mason, Brig. Gen. William U. Ogletree, Frank G. Pappas,
Donald D. Pomerleau, George B. Rasin, Jr., Samuel Seidel, James
A. Sensenbaugh, Colonel Thomas S. Smith, Roy N. Staten,
Robert F. Sweeney, Edwin Tully, Victor Turyn, Fred L. Wineland.
Richard C. Wertz, Executive Director
Executive Plaza One, Suite 302,
Cockeysville 21030 Telephone: 666-9610
The Governor appointed this Commission in 1967 to replace the
Commission on Crime and Delinquency. The present Commission is
composed of thirty-one elected and appointed officials, law enforce-
ment professional and citizens with knowledge and interest in law
enforcement and justice, representing all segments of the criminal
justice system. The Commission is to evaluate the recommenda-
tions of the President's Commission on Law Enforcement and Admin-
istration, appraising the needs of the State's criminal systems and
putting into effect those proposals of the President's commission that
the State unit finds to be worthwhile for Maryland.
The Commission is the State agency responsible for law enforce-
ment, criminal justice, and crime prevention planning in Maryland.
The Commission also administers the Omnibus Crime Control and
Safe Streets Act of 1970 and the Juvenile Delinquency Prevention
and Control Act of 1968. Under the Omnibus Crime Control and Safe
Streets Act the Commission is responsible for developing a compre-
hensive law enforcement and criminal justice plan and for making
grants to local governments and State agencies for programs con-
sistent with that plan.
A professional staff headed by an Executive Director and composed
of professionals in the field of law enforcement, law, correction, juve-
nile delinquency prevention and control, data systems, financial admin-
istration, auditing, and publications provides support to the Commis-
sioners. The staff develops Comprehensive Plan proposals for the
Commission's consideration, provides technical assistance to units of
local government and other State agencies, financially administers all
grant programs, and evaluates all projects funded by the Governor's
Major General Edwin Warfield III, The Adjutant General
and Ranking Line Officer
Brigadier General William U. Ogletree. Assistant Adjutant
General for Army

clear space
clear space
white space

Please view image to verify text. To report an error, please contact us.
Maryland Manual, 1971-72
Volume 175, Page 231   View pdf image (33K)
 Jump to  

This web site is presented for reference purposes under the doctrine of fair use. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: The site may contain material from other sources which may be under copyright. Rights assessment, and full originating source citation, is the responsibility of the user.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

An Archives of Maryland electronic publication.
For information contact

©Copyright  October 06, 2023
Maryland State Archives