clear space clear space clear space white space
 r c h i v e s   o f   M a r y l a n d   O n l i n e

PLEASE NOTE: The searchable text below was computer generated and may contain typographical errors. Numerical typos are particularly troubling. Click “View pdf” to see the original document.

  Maryland State Archives | Index | Help | Search
search for:
clear space
white space
Maryland Manual, 1967-68
Volume 173, Page 220   View pdf image (33K)
 Jump to  
clear space clear space clear space white space
The original membership consisted of the Comptroller of the Treasury,
the State Treasurer, and the Directors of the Department of Budget
and Procurement, the State Planning Department and the Depart-
ment of Assessments and Taxation. The Committee had its member-
ship expanded in 1962 to include three members from outside the
State government. At that time, the Committee's function was
expanded to keep the State's bonded indebtedness and other fiscal
matters under constant surveillance so that the Governor, in apprais-
ing requests and legislation calling for State financial support, would
have adequate background and advice readily available to him.
Honorary Chairman: William Preston Lane, Jr.
Chairman: H. Vernon Eney
E. Dale Adkins, Jr„ Harry Bard, Calhoun Bond, Elsbeth Levy
Bothe, Franklin L. Burdette, Richard W. Case, Hal C. B. Clagett,
Charles Delia, Mrs. Maurice P. S. Freedlander, James O'C.
Gentry, John R. Hargrove, Stanford Hoff, Martin D. Jenkins,
Clarence W. Miles, Edward T. Miller, Charles Mindel, John W.
Mitchell, E. Phillip Sayre, Alfred L. Scanlan, L. Mercer Smith,
Melvin J. Sykes, Furman L. Templeton, William C. Walsh.
John C. Brooks, Executive Director
Robert J. Martineau, Secretary
700 Mercantile Trust Building,
Baltimore 21202 Telephone: 752-4951
The Governor appointed this special commission in 1965 to conduct
an inquiry into the necessity for, and extent and nature of, any
amendment, modification, or revision of the Constitution of Maryland.
The Commission was instructed to determine whether or not a Con-
stitutional Convention should be held, and if so, to set up the proce-
dures for calling such a Convention, and the procedures for the elec-
tion of any delegates to a Convention. The Commission reported to the
Governor and to the General Assembly on August 25, 1967.
Chairman: Edward J. McCabe, Program Executive for Public Safety,
Office of Governor Spiro T. Agnew
Advisory members: Richard A. Batterton, Joseph G. Cannon,
Major General George M. Gelston, Colonel Robert J. Lally,
James S. Getty, Fred Weisgal, Paul C. Wolman.
Appointed members: Paul A. Dorf, Robert 1. H. Hammerman,
Lawrence J. Hogan, Arnold J. Hopkins, Eugene Meyer HI,
M.D., Charles E. Moylan, Jr., Donald D. Pomerleau, Jack
Marshall Stark.
301 W. Preston Street, Baltimore 21201 Telephone: 383-3010
The Governor appointed this Commission in 1967 to replace the
Commission on Crime and Delinquency. The present Commission is
composed of professionals working day to day in the field of its
activities as well as laymen with demonstrated knowledge and interest
in law enforcement and criminal justice. The Commission is to evalu-
ate the recommendations of the President's Commission on Law En-
forcement and Administration, appraising the needs of the State's
criminal systems and putting into effect those proposals of the Presi-

clear space
clear space
white space

Please view image to verify text. To report an error, please contact us.
Maryland Manual, 1967-68
Volume 173, Page 220   View pdf image (33K)
 Jump to  

This web site is presented for reference purposes under the doctrine of fair use. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: The site may contain material from other sources which may be under copyright. Rights assessment, and full originating source citation, is the responsibility of the user.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

An Archives of Maryland electronic publication.
For information contact

©Copyright  August 02, 2018
Maryland State Archives