clear space clear space clear space white space
 r c h i v e s   o f   M a r y l a n d   O n l i n e

PLEASE NOTE: The searchable text below was computer generated and may contain typographical errors. Numerical typos are particularly troubling. Click “View pdf” to see the original document.

  Maryland State Archives | Index | Help | Search
search for:
clear space
white space
Maryland Manual, 1951-52
Volume 164, Page 125   View pdf image (33K)
 Jump to  
clear space clear space clear space white space

Number Four of Garrett County, was created for the purpose of con-
serving and regulating the water resources of the Upper Potomac
River and its tributaries. To carry out its purpose, the Commission
is authorized to acquire lands, structures, buildings, waterways,
watersheds, waterrights, or any stream bed for the purpose of con-
ducting and operating a dam or reservoir. For this purpose, the
County Commissioners of Allegany County were authorized by the
General Assembly of 1939 to issue bonds in the amount of one million
dollars, and to make a special tax levy to pay the principal and inter-
est of the bonds. These bonds were issued in 1940 and the construc-
tion of a Dam on the Savage River was begun with the assistance of
the Public Works Administration and the Potomac River Board.
The dam was completed recently. The special tax levy authorized
has been held in abeyance until the completion of the project (Acts
1935, Ch. 409; Acts 1936, Ch. 6; Acts 1939, Ch. 143; Acts 1947,
Ch. 165).

Expenditures, 1950-51 $200,000
Staff: None



Honorary Members:

Theodore R. McKeldin, Governor
George W. Della, President of the Senate
John C. Luber, Speaker of the House of Delegates

Governor's Committee:

Chairman: John R. Reeves, Secretary of State
Hall Hammond, Attorney General

James G. Rennie, Director, Department of Budget and

James C. Alban, Chairman, Maryland State Planning

Joseph O'C. McCusker, Chief Deputy Comptroller
Senate Committee on Intergovernmental Cooperation:
Chairman: Leroy W. Preston

John Grason Turnbull, Stanford Hoff, Bernard S. Melni-
cove, Jacob R. Ramsburg

House Committee on Intergovernmental Cooperation:
Chairman: Albert L. Sklar

Henry J. Fowler, Charles A. Thompson, Charles M. See,
Henry H. Hanna, Jr.

The Maryland Cooperation Commission consists of three separate
and distinct Committees, which collectively act as the Commission; in
addition there are three honorary, ex-officio, non-voting members.
The honorary members are the Governor, the President of the Senate
and the Speaker of the House of Delegates. The three Committees
are (1) The Governor's Committee, which consists of three ex-officio
members, the Attorney General, the Director of the Department of


clear space
clear space
white space

Please view image to verify text. To report an error, please contact us.
Maryland Manual, 1951-52
Volume 164, Page 125   View pdf image (33K)
 Jump to  

This web site is presented for reference purposes under the doctrine of fair use. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: The site may contain material from other sources which may be under copyright. Rights assessment, and full originating source citation, is the responsibility of the user.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

An Archives of Maryland electronic publication.
For information contact

©Copyright  October 06, 2023
Maryland State Archives