clear space clear space clear space white space
 r c h i v e s   o f   M a r y l a n d   O n l i n e

PLEASE NOTE: The searchable text below was computer generated and may contain typographical errors. Numerical typos are particularly troubling. Click “View pdf” to see the original document.

  Maryland State Archives | Index | Help | Search
search for:
clear space
white space
Maryland Manual, 1939
Volume 158, Page 472   View pdf image (33K)
 Jump to  
clear space clear space clear space white space

Carroll T. Bond, Baltimore City (Chief Judge) 1924-
Francis Neal Parke, Carrroll County 1924-
William C. Walsh, Allegany County 1924-1926
D. Lindley Sloan, Allegany County 1926-
Banjamin A. Johnson, Wicomico County 1934-
Wm. Mason Shehan, Talbot County 1934-
Walter J. Mitchell, Charles County 1934-
Carroll T. Bond, Baltimore City 1938-
Edward S. Delaplaine, Frederick County 1939-


John Lewger, Member of the Council, officer in charge of land grants,

etc. 1637
John Lankford, "during his natural life"—Surveyor General 1641
Robert Clarke, Surveyor-General 1648
Jerome Clarke, Surveyor-General 1664
Baker Brooke, Surveyor-General 1674
Vincent Lowe, Surveyor-General 1679 to 1680

In 1680 the Land Office Was Created, with a Register on Each Shore

John Llewellin, Register for Western Shore.
Vachel Downes, Register for Eastern Shore.
Henry Darnal, Register 1688
Charles Carroll, Register 1712
Edward Griffith, Register 1715
Edmund Jennings, Judge and Register 1738
Levin Gale, Judge and Register 1738
Philip Thomas, Judge and Register 1743
Benj. Tasker and Benj. Young, Judges and Registers 1746
Benj. Young and George Stuart, Judges and Registers 1747
Benedict Calvert and George Stuart, Judges and Registers 1756
St. George Peale, Registrar 1777
John Calahan, Register 1779
John Kilty, Register 1806
John Brewer, Register 1812
G. G. Brewer, Register 1827

In 1841 the Eastern Shore Office Was Transferred to the
Western Shore

G. G. Brewer, Register for Western Shore.
Samuel Roberts, Register for Eastern Shore.

The Constitution of 1851 Created the Office of Commissioner

of the Land Office

James Murray 1852
William L. W. Seabrook 1857
George L. L. Davis 1868
William R. Hayward 1869
J. Thomas Scharf 1884
Philip D. Laird 1892
William O. Mitchell 1896
E. Stanley Toadvin 1900
E. Stanley Toadvin 1904
W. Laird Henry 1908
Thomas A. Smith 1908
John J. Hanson 1912


clear space
clear space
white space

Please view image to verify text. To report an error, please contact us.
Maryland Manual, 1939
Volume 158, Page 472   View pdf image (33K)
 Jump to  

This web site is presented for reference purposes under the doctrine of fair use. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: The site may contain material from other sources which may be under copyright. Rights assessment, and full originating source citation, is the responsibility of the user.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

An Archives of Maryland electronic publication.
For information contact

©Copyright  October 06, 2023
Maryland State Archives