clear space clear space clear space white space
 r c h i v e s   o f   M a r y l a n d   O n l i n e

PLEASE NOTE: The searchable text below was computer generated and may contain typographical errors. Numerical typos are particularly troubling. Click “View pdf” to see the original document.

  Maryland State Archives | Index | Help | Search
search for:
clear space
white space
Maryland Manual, 1935
Volume 152, Page 93   View pdf image (33K)
 Jump to  
clear space clear space clear space white space


(Chapter 555, Acts of 1935.)

It is the duty of the Department of Medhanical Engineering to
make, in each fiscal year, a complete survey of all physical prop-
erties of the State, such as mechanical equipment and repairs neces-
sary; to supervise the operation and maintenance of mechanical
equipment inside and outside of all State buildings, including the
heating, lighting, plumbing, ventilating, watei supply and sewerage
disposal. The Department is required to make an annual report of
its activities, and list in detail all properties, repairs made and
changes necessary. The State Engineer and the Senior and Junior
Assistant Engineers are appointed by the Governor.
(See page 3


(Chapter 409, Acts of 1935.)
George W. Legge (Chairman) 1941 - Cumberland
(Appointed by the Governor)
Owen E. Hitchins- .1939 Cumberland
(Appointed by Board of County Commissioners of Allegany County)
George Warnick 1937 ...... Bloomington

(Appointed by Board of County Commissioners of Garrett County)
The Commission is composed of three members, one appointed by
the County Commissioners of Garrett County, one by the County Com-
missioners of Allegany County, and the third by the Governor, who
also designates the Chairman. The terms of the Commissioners are
six years from May 1, 1935, except those first appointed by the County
Commissioners of Garrett County and Allegany County serve for two
and four years, respectively, and their successors for six years, so
that the term of one Commissioner shall expire biennially.
The purpose of the law creating the Commission is to conserve,
regulate and control water resources within the Upper Potomac River
District, consisting of Allegany County and Election District No. 4
of Garrett County; and the Commission is authorized to acquire
lands, structures or buildings, or any stream bed, waterway, water-
shed or water rights, for the construction, operation and maintenance
of any dam, reservoir, etc. The County Commissioners of Allegany
County are authorized to levy taxes for the operation, maintenance,
regulation and control of works purchased, acquired or constructed
under the Act.

(Chapter 330, Acts of 1935.)
Name. Term. Albert D. Graham, Chairman 1939 First National Bank Bldg.,
Walter Hopkins 1941 2 Wyndhurst Ave., Baltimore
Ralph H. Grier 1937 Salisbury

Chapter 330 of the Acts of 1935 created the Chesapeake Bay Au-
thority, to be composed of three members. Two of the original mem-
bers were named in the Act and the third was to be appointed by the
Governor. The persons named in the Act resigned, and on June 3, 1935,
the Governor appointed the three members as named above. The Act

clear space
clear space
white space

Please view image to verify text. To report an error, please contact us.
Maryland Manual, 1935
Volume 152, Page 93   View pdf image (33K)
 Jump to  

This web site is presented for reference purposes under the doctrine of fair use. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: The site may contain material from other sources which may be under copyright. Rights assessment, and full originating source citation, is the responsibility of the user.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

An Archives of Maryland electronic publication.
For information contact

©Copyright  August 02, 2018
Maryland State Archives