clear space clear space clear space white space
 r c h i v e s   o f   M a r y l a n d   O n l i n e

PLEASE NOTE: The searchable text below was computer generated and may contain typographical errors. Numerical typos are particularly troubling. Click “View pdf” to see the original document.

  Maryland State Archives | Index | Help | Search
search for:
clear space
white space
Maryland Manual, 1899
Volume 111, Page 178   View pdf image (33K)
 Jump to  
clear space clear space clear space white space


dollars in the counties, and six thousand dollars in Baltimore City.
Said bond to be approved by the Governor, and filed with the Comp-
troller. (P. G. L Art. 36, sec. 24; Art. 68. sec. 1. Act of 1890, chap. 71;
1892, chap.373; 1894, chap. 412; 1896, chap. 187; 1898, chap. 81.)

SCHOOL COMMISSIONERS are appointed by the Governor, with the con-
sent of the Senate, for a term of six years from the first day of August
next succeeding their appointment, one-third of the board being
appointed biennially. The Boards consist of three members in all of
the counties except Baltimore, Carroll. Frederick and Washington
Counties, where there are six Commissioners. (1892, ehap. 341.)


County Seat—Cumberland.

Name. Office. Term Expires.

Theodore Luman, Clerk Circuit Court, 1903

John W. Cook, County Commissioner, 1901

William M. Clise, County Commissioner, 1901

John B. Gunning, County Commissioner, 1903

Enoch B. Prichard, County Commissioner, 1903

J. A. Hendrickson, County Commissioner, 1903

Martin V. Hice, Judge Orphans' Court, 1903

Robert Tennant, Judge Orphans' Court, 1903

John N. M. Brandler, Judge Orphans' Court, Chief, 1903

John G. Wilson, State's Attorney, 1903

James Martin, Sheriff, 1901

John B. Shannon, Register of Wills, 1905

Owen Price, Jr., Treasurer, 1901

John Schaidt, Surveyor, 1902

Harry O. Robinette, Tax Collector, 1st Dist., 1903

Richard J. Bruce, Tax Collector, 2d Dist., 1802

Peter Lemmert, Tax Collector, 3d Dist., 1902

James Schuyler, Tax Collector, 4th Dist., 1902


Post Office.

William Hunter, (R.) Lonaconing, 1900
.David Walker, Cumberland, 1900
Asahel Willison, (D.) Cumberland, 1900


William H. Sheppard, Cumberland, 1900

Duncan Sinclair, Midlothian, 1903

DeWarren H. Reynolds, Cumberland, 1904


1st Dist. Philip H. Fletcher, Piney Grove, 1900

1st Dist. Joseph Higgins, Orleans, 1900

3d Dist. Daniel Thomas, Oldtown, 1900

2d Dist. Charles F. Showaker, Oldtown, 1900

8d Dist. Claude L. Robinette, Flintstone, 1900

4th Dist. Elmer E. Anthony, Cumberland, 1900

5th Dist. Joseph A. Qonder, Cumberland, 1900

flth Dist. William D. Jones, Cumberland, 1900

7th Dist. Edward Cresap, Rawlings, 1900

7th Dist. John J. Bier, Bier Station, 1900

8th Dist. James W. Virts, Westernport, 1900

8th Dist. R. H. Whitworth, Westernport, 1900


clear space
clear space
white space

Please view image to verify text. To report an error, please contact us.
Maryland Manual, 1899
Volume 111, Page 178   View pdf image (33K)
 Jump to  

This web site is presented for reference purposes under the doctrine of fair use. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: The site may contain material from other sources which may be under copyright. Rights assessment, and full originating source citation, is the responsibility of the user.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

An Archives of Maryland electronic publication.
For information contact

©Copyright  October 06, 2023
Maryland State Archives