Skip to Main Content

The Commissioners

As mandated by law, the Commission is currently composed of members representing a variety of government agencies, non-profits and academic institutions. Commissioners serve a term set to expire June 30, 2024. The Commission submits an interim report after one year, and at the end of the term a final report to the Governor and the General Assembly on or before certain dates.


Name Affiliation

David Fakunle, Ph.D., Chair

National Great Blacks in Wax Museum

David Armenti

Maryland Center for History and Culture

Iris Leigh Barnes, Ph. D.

Lillie Carroll Jackson Civil Rights Museum

Simone Barrett, Ph.D.

Morgan State University

Charles L. Chavis, Jr., Ph.D., Vice-Chair

George Mason University (Public Member)

Nicholas Creary, Ph.D.

Maryland Lynching Memorial Project

Roger Davidson, Ph.D.

Bowie State University

Maya Davis

Maryland Commission on African American History and Culture

Omar Eaton-Martinez

American Alliance of Museums
Maryland National Capital Parks and Planning Commission (Public Member)

Chris Haley

Maryland State Archives

Kirkland Hall, Sr. Ph.D.

University of Maryland Eastern Shore (Public Member)

Elizabeth Hughes

Maryland Historical Trust

Izetta Mobley, PhD

Reginald F. Lewis Museum

Stephanie Suerth

Maryland Commission on Civil Rights

Carl Snowden

NAACP Maryland State Conference

Marshall Stevenson, Ph.D.

University of Maryland Eastern Shore

Teisha Dupree Wilson, Ph.D.

Coppin State University


Name Affiliation

Sonya Osei

Bowie State University

Kristin McFarlane

Maryland Attorney Generals Office

Zenita Hurley

Maryland Attorney Generals Office

Will Schwarz

Maryland Lynching Memorial Project