CHARLES COUNTY, MARYLAND

[County Seal, Charles County, Maryland] Origin: Charles County was created in 1658 by an Order in Council. It is not to be confused with an earlier Charles County (1650-1653) known as Old Charles County. The County was named for Charles Calvert (1637-1715), 3rd Lord Baltimore. Calvert lived in Maryland from 1661 until he returned to England in 1684. He was Proprietor of the Maryland colony from 1675 to 1689, when he lost his right to govern. From 1692 until Calvert's death in 1715, Maryland was governed as a royal colony.

Boundaries: Bounded north by Prince George's County; east by St. Mary's County; south & west by Potomac River.
County Code
County Seat: La Plata, MD 20646
Form of Government: Code Home Rule since 2002
Population: 1990 census: 101,154; 2000 census: 120,546; 2010 census: 146,551


Budget

Election Returns

Executive Branch

Historical Chronology

Judicial Branch

Legislative Branch

Maps

Municipalities

Organizational Chart

Records

Reports

U.S. Government Agencies


[photo, Charles County Government Building, 200 Baltimore St., La Plata, Maryland]

Charles County Government Building, 200 Baltimore St., La Plata, Maryland, May 2004. Photo by Diane F. Evartt.


websites:
Aging & Senior Programs Division: www.charlescountymd.gov/cs/aging/aging-and-senior-programs
Animal Control: www.charlescountymd.gov/es/animalcontrol/animal-control
Circuit Court: www.courts.state.md.us/clerks/charles/index.html
Community College: www.csmd.edu/
Community Services Dept.: www.charlescountymd.gov/cs
County Administrator: www.charlescountymd.gov/coadmin/welcome
County Attorney: www.charlescountymd.gov/coattny/welcome
County Commissioners: www.charlescountymd.gov/commissioners/welcome
County Government: www.charlescountymd.gov/
County Government Directory: www.charlescounty.org/apps/ldapdir/LDAPdirectory.jsp
District Court: www.courts.state.md.us/district/directories/courtmap.html#CHARLES
Economic Development Dept.: www.meetcharlescounty.com/
Elections Board: www.charlescountymd.gov/boe/welcome
Emergency Services: www.charlescountymd.gov/es/welcome
Environmental Resources Division: www.charlescountymd.gov/pw/environmental/environmental-resources
Ethics Commission: www.charlescountymd.gov/commissioners/boards/ethics-commission
Fiscal & Administrative Services Dept.: www.charlescountymd.gov/fas/welcome
Health Dept.: www.charlescountyhealth.org/
Housing Authority: www.charlescountymd.gov/cs/housing/housing-authority
Human Resources Dept: www.charlescountymd.gov/hr/welcome
Information Technology Dept: www.charlescountymd.gov/fas/it/information-technology
Job Service: www.dllr.state.md.us/county/stmarys/
Library: https://ccplonline.org/
Parks & Grounds Division: www.charlescountymd.gov/rpt/parks/parks-and-grounds
Planning & Growth Management Dept.: www.charlescountymd.gov/pgm
Public Schools: www.ccboe.com/
Public Works Dept: www.charlescountymd.gov/pw/welcome
Purchasing Division: www.charlescountymd.gov/fas/purchasing/purchasing
Recreation, Parks & Tourism Dept.: www.charlescountymd.gov/rpt/recreation-parks-tourism
Register of Wills: http://registers.maryland.gov/main/charles.html
Roads Division: www.charlescountymd.gov/pw/roads/roads
Sheriff's Office: www.ccso.us/
Social Services Dept.: http://dhr.maryland.gov/local-offices/charles-county/
State's Attorney: www.charlescountymd.gov/sao/welcome
Tourism Office: www.charlescountymd.gov/tourism/tourism-office

Maryland Constitutional Offices & Agencies
Maryland Departments
Maryland Independent Agencies
Maryland Executive Commissions, Committees, Task Forces, & Advisory Boards
Maryland Universities & Colleges
Maryland Counties
Maryland Municipalities
Maryland at a Glance


Maryland Manual On-Line

Search the Manual
e-mail: mdmanual@mdarchives.state.md.us


This information resource of the Maryland State Archives is presented here for fair use in the public domain. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: Rights assessment for associated source material is the responsibility of the user.


Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!


[ Archives' Home Page  ||  All About Maryland  ||  Maryland Manual On-Line  ||  Reference & Research
||  Search the Archives   ||  Education & Outreach  ||  Archives of Maryland Online ]

Governor     General Assembly    Judiciary     Maryland.Gov

Copyright October 04, 2016 Maryland State Archives