[County Seal, Cecil County, Maryland] Origin: Cecil County was erected in 1674 from Baltimore and Kent counties by proclamation of the Governor. The County was named for Cecilius Calvert (1605-1675), Second Lord Baltimore, and founder of the Maryland colony. Although he never lived in Maryland, Cecilius Calvert was Proprietor of the colony from 1632 until his death in Middlesex, England in 1675.

Boundaries: Bounded north by Pennsylvania; east by Delaware; south by Sassafras River; west by Chesapeake Bay & Susquehanna River.
County Charter & Code

[photo, Cecil County Courthouse, 129 East Main St., Elkton, Maryland] County Executives
County Seal
County Seat: Elkton, MD 21921
Form of Government: Charter since December 3, 2012
Population: 1990 census: 71,347; 2000 census: 85,951; 2010 census: 101,108

Cecil County Courthouse, 129 East Main St., Elkton, Maryland, March 2000. Photo by Diane F. Evartt.


Election Returns

Executive Branch

Historical Chronology

Judicial Branch

Legislative Branch



Organizational Chart



U.S. Government Agencies

Animal Services: www.ccgov.org/government/animal-control
Budget Dept.: www.ccgov.org/government/budget
Circuit Court: www.mdcourts.gov/clerks/cecil/index.html
Community College: www.cecil.edu/Pages/default.aspx
Community Services: www.ccgov.org/government/community-services
County Council: www.ccgov.org/about-us/county-council
County Executive: www.ccgov.org/about-us/county-executive
County Government: www.ccgov.org/government
County Government Directory: www.ccgov.org/about-us/cecil-county-government-contact-directory
Detention Center: www.ccgov.org/government/sheriff-s-office/sheriff-s-office-test/corrections/detention-center
District Court: www.mdcourts.gov/district/directories/courtmap.html#CECIL
Economic Development Office: www.ccgov.org/government/economic-development
Elections Board: www.ccgov.org/government/election-board
Emergency Services Dept.: www.ccdes.org/
Ethics Commission: www.ccgov.org/about-us/boards-and-commissions/cecil-county-ethics-commission
Facility Management & Maintenance Dept.: www.ccgov.org/government/facilities-maintenance
Finance Dept.: www.ccgov.org/government/finance
Health Dept.: www.cecilcountyhealth.org/ccdhxx/index.php
Housing & Community Development: www.ccgov.org/government/community-services/housing
Human Resources: www.ccgov.org/government/human-resources
Information Technology: www.ccgov.org/government/information-technology
Job Service: http://dllr.maryland.gov/county/harford/
Library: www.cecil.ebranch.info/
Orphans' Court: www.ccgov.org/government/orphans-court
Parks & Recreation: www.ccgov.org/government/parks-and-recreation
Permits & Inspections Dept.: www.ccgov.org/government/permits-and-inspections
Planning & Zoning Dept.: www.ccgov.org/government/planning-zoning
Public Schools: www.ccps.org/cecil
Public Works: www.ccgov.org/government/public-works
Purchasing Office: www.ccgov.org/government/purchasing
Register of Wills: http://registers.maryland.gov/main/cecil.html
Sheriff's Office: www.ccgov.org/government/sheriff-s-office-1701
Social Services Dept.: http://dhr.maryland.gov/local-offices/cecil-county/
State's Attorney: www.ccgov.org/government/state-s-attorney-s-office
Tourism Office: www.ccgov.org/government/tourism-1657

Maryland Constitutional Offices & Agencies
Maryland Departments
Maryland Independent Agencies
Maryland Executive Commissions, Committees, Task Forces, & Advisory Boards
Maryland Universities & Colleges
Maryland Counties
Maryland Municipalities
Maryland at a Glance

Maryland Manual On-Line

Search the Manual
e-mail: mdmanual@mdarchives.state.md.us

This information resource of the Maryland State Archives is presented here for fair use in the public domain. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: Rights assessment for associated source material is the responsibility of the user.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

[ Archives' Home Page  ||  All About Maryland  ||  Maryland Manual On-Line  ||  Reference & Research
||  Search the Archives   ||  Education & Outreach  ||  Archives of Maryland Online ]

Governor     General Assembly    Judiciary     Maryland.Gov

Copyright October 19, 2016 Maryland State Archives