COMPTROLLER OF MARYLAND

Peter V. R. Franchot, Comptroller of Maryland
Sharonne R. Bonardi, Deputy Comptroller (410) 260-7806
John T. Gontrum, Assistant Comptroller (410) 260-7562


[photo, Goldstein Treasury Building, Annapolis, Maryland] Len N. Foxwell, Chief of Staff (410) 260-7840
Joseph H. Shapiro, Assistant Comptroller (410) 260-7305
Brian L. Oliner, Counsel (410) 260-7808

Goldstein Treasury Building, Annapolis, Maryland, July 2014. Photo by Diane F. Evartt.


Agencies

Budget

Historical Evolution

Organizational Chart

Organizational Structure

Origin & Functions

Reports


ORGANIZATIONAL STRUCTURE

COMPTROLLER OF MARYLAND

(E00A0101, formerly 24.01.01)
FY2017 appropriation: $4,405,267; authorized positions: 73
Peter V. R. Franchot, Comptroller of Maryland (elected by voters to 4-year term), 2018
(410) 260-7801
e-mail: pfranchot@comp.state.md.us

BOARD OF REVENUE ESTIMATES

Ex officio: Peter V. R. Franchot, Comptroller of Maryland; Nancy K. Kopp, State Treasurer; David R. Brinkley, Secretary of Budget & Management.

Executive Secretary: Andrew M. Schaufele, Director, Bureau of Revenue Estimates (410) 260-7450
e-mail: bre@comp.state.md.us

ADMINISTRATION

Len N. Foxwell, Chief of Staff (410) 260-7840
e-mail: lfoxwell@comp.state.md.us

OFFICE OF ASSISTANT COMPTROLLER
Joseph H. Shapiro, Assistant Comptroller (410) 260-7305
e-mail: jshapiro@comp.state.md.us

OPERATIONS

Sharonne R. Bonardi, Deputy Comptroller (410) 260-7806
e-mail: sbonardi@comp.state.md.us

ADMINISTRATION & FINANCE DIVISION

(E00A0102, formerly 24.01.01.02)
FY2017 appropriation: $3,347,583; authorized positions:
Kenneth H. Smith, Director (410) 260-7807
e-mail: ksmith@comp.state.md.us

CENTRAL PAYROLL BUREAU

(E00A0901, formerly 24.01.09)
FY2017 appropriation: $2,740,294; authorized positions: 31.1
Robert J. Murphy, Director (410) 260-7406
e-mail: rmurphy@comp.state.md.us
web: http://comptroller.marylandtaxes.com/government_services/state_payroll_services/

COMPLIANCE DIVISION

(E00A0501, formerly 24.01.05)
FY2017 appropriation: $35,995,914; authorized positions: 394.2
Daniel C. Riley, Jr., Director (410) 767-1556
e-mail: driley@comp.state.md.us
web: http://taxes.marylandtaxes.com/tax_compliance_and_enforcement/tax_compliance_information/

Robert R. Scheerer, Deputy Director (410) 767-1557
e-mail: rscheerer@comp.state.md.us

FIELD ENFORCEMENT DIVISION

(E00A0601, formerly 24.01.06)
FY2017 appropriation: $6,828,967; authorized positions: 61
Jeffrey A. Kelly, Director (410) 260-7388
e-mail: jakelly@comp.state.md.us
web: http://taxes.marylandtaxes.com/tax_compliance_and_enforcement/enforcement_information/

Ronald L. Gallant, Deputy Director (410) 260-7716
e-mail: rgallant@comp.state.md.us

GENERAL ACCOUNTING DIVISION

(E00A0201, formerly 24.01.02)
FY2017 appropriation: $5,709,300; authorized positions: 43
Sandra L. Zinck, Director (410) 260-7820
e-mail: gad@comp.state.md.us, szinck@comp.state.md.us
web: http://comptroller.marylandtaxes.com/public_services/agency_information/agency_divisions/general_accounting_division/

INFORMATION TECHNOLOGY DIVISION

(E00A1001, formerly 24.01.10)
FY2017 appropriation: $22,048,006; authorized positions: 139
Stanley J. Kizior, Director (410) 260-7503
e-mail: skizior@comp.state.md.us

Carol S. Lavix, Deputy Director (410) 260-6172
e-mail: clavix@comp.state.md.us

REVENUE ADMINISTRATION DIVISION

(E00A0401, formerly 24.01.04)
FY2017 appropriation: $33,828,909; authorized positions: 363.6
Wayne P. Green, Director (410) 260-7445
e-mail: wgreen@comp.state.md.us

Wallace Eddleman, Deputy Director (410) 260-6621
e-mail: weddleman@comp.state.md.us


[photo, Allegany County Branch Operations, Revenue Administration Division, 112 Baltimore St., Cumberland, Maryland]

Allegany County Branch Operations, Revenue Administration Division, 112 Baltimore St., Cumberland, Maryland, October 2014. Photo by Diane F. Evartt.


Maryland Constitutional Offices & Agencies
Maryland Departments
Maryland Independent Agencies
Maryland Executive Commissions, Committees, Task Forces, Advisory Boards
Maryland Universities & Colleges
Maryland Counties
Maryland Municipalities
Maryland at a Glance


Maryland Manual On-Line

Search the Manual
e-mail: mdmanual@mdarchives.state.md.us


This information resource of the Maryland State Archives is presented here for fair use in the public domain. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: Rights assessment for associated source material is the responsibility of the user.


Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!


[ Archives' Home Page  ||  All About Maryland  ||  Maryland Manual On-Line  ||  Reference & Research
||  Search the Archives   ||  Education & Outreach  ||  Archives of Maryland Online ]

Governor     General Assembly    Judiciary     Maryland.Gov

Copyright October 12, 2016 Maryland State Archives