GOVERNOR

GOVERNOR'S EXECUTIVE COUNCIL
(CABINET)


[photo, State House (from College Ave.), Annapolis, Maryland]
  • Subcabinets & Cabinet Councils


  • State House (from College Ave.), Annapolis, Maryland, April 2007. Photo by Diane F. Evartt.


    Chair: Lawrence J. Hogan, Jr., Governor (410) 974-3901; e-mail: http://governor.maryland.gov/contact-the-governors-office/

    Boyd K. Rutherford, Lt. Governor (410) 974-2461; e-mail: lt.governor@maryland.gov
    John C. Wobensmith, Secretary of State (410) 260-3894; e-mail: dlmdsos_sos@maryland.gov
    Rona E. Kramer, Secretary of Aging (410) 767-1102; e-mail: rona.kramer@maryland.gov
    Joseph Bartenfelder, Secretary of Agriculture (410) 841-5880; e-mail: joe.bartenfelder@maryland.gov
    David R. Brinkley, Secretary of Budget & Management (410) 260-7041; e-mail: david.brinkley@maryland.gov
    R. Michael Gill, Secretary of Commerce (410) 767-6301; e-mail: mike.gill@maryland.gov
    Carol A. Beatty, Secretary of Disabilities (410) 767-3661; e-mail: carol.beatty@maryland.gov
    Karen B. Salmon, Ph.D., State Superintendent of Schools (410) 767-0462; e-mail: karen.salmon@maryland.gov
    Ben H. Grumbles, Secretary of the Environment (410) 537-3084; e-mail: ben.grumbles@maryland.gov
    Ellington E. Churchill, Jr., Secretary of General Services (410) 767-4960; e-mail: ellington.churchill@maryland.gov
    Dennis R. Schrader, Acting Secretary of Health (410) 767-6505; e-mail: dennis.schrader@maryland.gov
    Kenneth C. Holt, Secretary of Housing & Community Development (301) 429-7451; e-mail: kenneth.holt@maryland.gov
    Lourdes R. Padilla, Secretary of Human Services (410) 767-7616; e-mail: lourdes.padilla@maryland.gov
    Michael G. Leahy, Acting Secretary of Information Technology (410) 697-9401; e-mail: michael.leahy@maryland.gov
    Sam J. Abed, Secretary of Juvenile Services (410) 230-3100; e-mail: sam.abed@maryland.gov
    Kelly M. Schulz, Secretary of Labor, Licensing, & Regulation (410) 230-6020; e-mail: kelly.schulz@maryland.gov
    Mark J. Belton, Secretary of Natural Resources (410) 260-8101; e-mail: mark.belton@maryland.gov
    Robert S. McCord, Acting Secretary of Planning (410) 767-4510; e-mail: robert.mccord@maryland.gov
    Stephen T. Moyer, Secretary of Public Safety & Correctional Services (410) 339-5005; e-mail: secretary.dpscs@maryland.gov
    William M. Pallozzi, Secretary of State Police (410) 653-4219; e-mail: msp.superintendent@maryland.gov
    Pete K. Rahn, Secretary of Transportation (410) 865-1000; e-mail: secretary@mdot.state.md.us
    George W. Owings III, Secretary of Veterans Affairs (410) 260-3838; e-mail: secretary.mdva@maryland.gov
    James D. Fielder, Jr., Ph.D., Secretary of Higher Education (410) 767-3301; e-mail: james.fielder@maryland.gov
    Maj. Gen. (MD) Linda L. Singh, Adjutant General (410) 576-6097; e-mail: linda.l.singh.mil@mail.mil

    Contact: Matthew A. Clark, Chief of Staff

    State House, 100 State Circle, Annapolis, MD 21401
    (410) 974-3570; fax: (410) 974-5735
    e-mail: matthew.clark@maryland.gov


    In 1922, the Governor's Executive Council originated as the Governor's Advisory Council. It reorganized in 1969 as the Governor's Executive Council. Today, the Council is known as the Governor's Cabinet. Meeting weekly, it coordinates, directs, and supervises State government.

    Twenty-five ex officio members constitute the Council. They include the Governor, who chairs the Council; the Lieutenant Governor; the Secretary of State; the secretary of each principal department of the Executive Branch of State government; the State Superintendent of Schools; the Secretary of Higher Education, and the Adjutant General. The Governor may appoint an executive secretary for the Council (Code State Government Article, secs. 8-101 through 8-105; Public Safety Article, sec. 13-301).

    In 2017, the Council was aided by the Committee on Paid Leave Policy.

    Maryland Constitutional Offices & Agencies
    Maryland Departments
    Maryland Independent Agencies
    Maryland Executive Commissions, Committees, Task Forces, Advisory Boards
    Maryland Universities & Colleges
    Maryland Counties
    Maryland Municipalities
    Maryland at a Glance


    Maryland Manual On-Line

    Search the Manual
    e-mail: mdmanual@mdarchives.state.md.us


    This information resource of the Maryland State Archives is presented here for fair use in the public domain. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: Rights assessment for associated source material is the responsibility of the user.


    Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!


    [ Archives' Home Page  ||  All About Maryland  ||  Maryland Manual On-Line  ||  Reference & Research
    ||  Search the Archives   ||  Education & Outreach  ||  Archives of Maryland Online ]

    Governor     General Assembly    Judiciary     Maryland.Gov

    Copyright December 01, 2017 Maryland State Archives