Archives of Maryland
Historical List
U.S. Attorneys for the District of Maryland, 1790-


Dates Served
Richard Potts 1789-1792
Zebulon Hollingsworth 1792-1806
John Stephen 1806-1810
Thomas Beale Dorsey 1810-1812
Elias Glenn 1812-1824
Nathaniel Williams 1824-1841
Z. Collins Lee 1841-1845
William L. Marshall 1845-1850
Z. Collins Lee 1850-1853
William Mead Addison 1853-1862
William Price 1862-1865
William J. Jones 1865-1866
William Price 1866-1867
Andrew Sterett Ridgely 1867-1869
Archibald Stirling, Jr. 1869-1886
Thomas G. Hayes 1886-1890
John T. Ensor 1890-1894
William L. Marbury 1894-1898
John C. Rose 1898-1910
John Philip Hill 1910-1915
Samuel K. Dennis 1915-1920
Robert R. Carman 1920-1922
Amos W. W. Woodcock 1922-1931
Simon E. Sobeloff 1931-1934
Bernard J. Flynn 1934-1953
George Cochran Doub 1953-1956
Walter E. Black, Jr. 1956-1957
Leon H. A. Pierson 1957-1961
Joseph D. Tydings 1961-1963
Thomas J. Kenney 1963-1967
Stephen H. Sachs 1967-1970
George Beall 1970-1975
Jervis Finney 1975-1978
Russell T. Baker 1978-1981
J. Frederick Motz 1981-1985
Breckinridge L. Willcox 1986-19911
Richard D. Bennett 1991-1993
Lynne A. Battaglia 1993-2001
Thomas M. DiBiagio 2001-2005
Rod J. Rosenstein 2005-20172
Stephen M. Schenning3 2017-

1. Catherine C. Blake served as acting U.S. Attorney from 1985-86.
2. Allen F. Loucks served as interim U.S. Attorney from January 3 - July 12, 2005.
3. Acting U.S. Attorney since April 27, 2017.


Maryland Manual Online.

Return to Maryland Government, Historical List

This web site is presented for reference purposes under the doctrine of fair use. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: The site may contain material from other sources which may be under copyright. Rights assessment, and full originating source citation, is the responsibility of the user.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

Copyright October 30, 2017Maryland State Archives