Maryland flag Archives of Maryland
Historical List
Comptrollers of the Treasury, 1851- 

gold line



History of the Office of the Comptroller of the Treasury
Historical Timeline
The office of comptroller of the treasury was created by the Constitution of 1851. Elected by the voters of the state, the comptroller served for four years (Md. Const. 1851, Art. 6, sec. 1). The comptroller's term was shortened to two years in 1864 (Md. Const. 1864, Art. 6, sec. 2). By the 1867 Constitution, however, the comptroller's term was lengthened again to the current four-year term. There is no limitation on the number of terms the comptroller may serve (Md. Const. 1867, Art. 6, sec. 1).

Comptrollers of the Treasury

1851-1853Philip Francis Thomas
1853-1854Henry E. Bateman
1854-1856William Pinkney Whyte
1856-1861William Henry Purnell
1861Dennis Claude
1861-1862Abram Lingan Jarrett
1862-1864Samuel Snowden Maffit
1864Henry Hollyday Goldsborough
1864-1867Robert John Jump
1867-1870William James Leonard
1870-1878Levin Woolford
1878-1884Thomas James Keating
1884-1888J. Frank Turner
1888-1892L. Victor Baughman
1892-1896Marion deKalb Smith
1896-1898Robert P. Graham
1898-1900Phillips Lee Goldsborough
1900-1904Dr. Joshua W. Hering
1904-1908Dr. Gordon T. Atkinson
1908-1910Dr. Joshua W. Hering
1910-1911William B. Clagett
1911-1912Charles H. Stanley
1912-1916Emerson C. Harrington
1916-1920Hugh A. McMullen
1920-1922E. Brooke Lee
1922-1939William S. Gordy, Jr.
1939-1947J. Millard Tawes
1947-1950James J. Lacy
1950-1959J. Millard Tawes
1959-1998Louis L. Goldstein
1998-1999Robert L. Swann
1999-2007William Donald Schaefer
2007-presentPeter V. R. Franchot

Return to Maryland Government, Historical List

This web site is presented for reference purposes under the doctrine of fair use. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: The site may contain material from other sources which may be under copyright. Rights assessment, and full originating source citation, is the responsibility of the user.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

Copyright September 17, 2014 Maryland State Archives