Archives of Maryland
Historical List
Attorneys General, 1657-1776

gold line


Attorneys General, 1657-1776
1657-1660/61 Lt. Richard Smith, Sr. Calvert County
1660/61-1666 Capt. Thomas Manning Calvert County
1666-1670 Col. William Calvert St. Mary's City
1670-1676 Col. Vincent Lowe Talbot County
1676-1681 Kenelm Cheseldyne St. Mary's City
1681-1686/87 Thomas Burford Charles County
1688 Robert Carvile St. Mary's City
1688-1689 Charles Carroll [1] St. Mary's City & Anne Arundel County
1691-1692 Col. George Plater, I St. Mary's County
1692 Edward Wynn St. Mary's County
1692-1698 Col. George Plater, I St. Mary's County
1698-1704 Maj. William Dent Charles County
1704-1718 Col. William Bladen Annapolis
1718-1721 Thomas Bordley Annapolis
1721-1725 Daniel Dulany, Sr.  Annapolis
1725-1734 Michael Howard Talbot County
1734-1744 Daniel Dulany, Sr. Annapolis
1744-1756 Henry Darnall, III Prince George's County
1756-1763 Stephen Bordley  Annapolis
1764-1766 Edmund Key Annapolis
1766-1768 Robert Goldsborough, II Dorchester County
1768-1776 Thomas Jennings Annapolis

1 Carroll continued as Lord Baltimore's attorney general from 1689 to 1715.

Return to Maryland Government, Historical List

This web site is presented for reference purposes under the doctrine of fair use. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: The site may contain material from other sources which may be under copyright. Rights assessment, and full originating source citation, is the responsibility of the user.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

© Copyright March 05, 2013 Maryland State Archives