Archives of Maryland
Historical List
Royal Assembly of 1712 - 1714

First Session: October 28, 1712 - November 15, 1712
Second Session: October 27, 1713 - November 14, 1713
Third Session: June 22, 1714 - July 3, 1714
Fourth Session: October 5, 1714 - October 9, 1714

Edward C. Papenfuse, et al., Archives of Maryland, Historical List, new series, Vol. 1. Annapolis, MD: Maryland State Archives, 1990.
Edward C. Papenfuse, et al., A Biographical Dictionary of the Maryland Legislature, 1635-1789, Vols. 1&2.  Annapolis, MD: Maryland State
Archives, 1985.

a - appointed; c - Council (Upper House); d - died; dcl - declined; dns - did not serve; ds - dismissed; e - elected; ev - election voided;
pres - president of the Senate; pres p. t. - president pro tem of the Senate; psa - post-session appointment; psd - post-session death;
psr - post-session resignation; r - resigned; s - suspended; spkr - speaker of the House; spkr p.t. - speaker pro tem of the House;
(D) - Democrat; (R) - Republican.

Edward Lloyd,1 President of the Upper House
Robert Ungle, Speaker of the Lower House
Upper House
Edward Lloyd, pres1
William Holland
Thomas Ennalls
William Coursey
Robert Quarry, dns
Samuel Young
Thomas Greenfield
Charles Greenberry, d-3
John Hall
William Whittington
Thomas Addison
Richard Tilghman
John Dorsey
Philemon Lloyd

Lower House
Amos Garrett
Thomas Dockwra
Anne Arundel County
Richard Jones, d-3
Daniel Mariatee
Joseph Hill
Charles Hammond, d-3
John Hammond, e-4
Alexander Warfield, e-4
Baltimore County2
Richard Colegate, ev-1, e-2
William Talbot, ev-1, e-2, d-3
Edward Stevenson, ev-1, e-2
Thomas Hammond, ev-1, e-2
James Maxwell, e-4
Calvert County
John Mackall
John Leech, d-3
John Broome, s-3
James Mackall
John Rousby, e-4
Alexander Parran, e-4
Cecil County
James Frisby
Matthias Vanderheyden
William Dare
Peregrine Frisby
Charles County
James Smallwood
Philip Hoskins
Walter Storey
John Fendall
Dorchester County
Roger Woolford
Henry Ennalls
Govert Lookerman
Henry Trippe
Kent County
Daniel Pearce
Edward Scott
St. Ledger Codd
Edward Blay, d-3
William Blay, e-4
Prince George's County
Robert Tyler3
Thomas Sprigg
Thomas Claggett, s-2
Thomas Brooke
James Stoddart, e-3
Queen Anne's County
Solomon Wright
John Whittington
Charles Wright
John Wells, d-3
John Hawkins, e-4
St. Mary's County
Thomas Trueman Greenfield
Henry Peregrine Jowles
William Watts
Kenelm Cheseldyne
Somerset County
Samuel Worthington
William Whittington
John Purnell
Thomas Purnell
Talbot County
Robert Ungle, spkr
Thomas Robins
Matthew Tilghman Ward
James Lloyd

1 See footnote 1 of the preceeding Assembly.

2. The election of all four delegates from Baltimore County was voided at the first session because of the sheriff's "partiality and Neglect of his Duty in the Election of Members for that County." All four were reelected to the next session.

3. After being elected speaker of the first session, Tyler declined to serve and recommended the election of Robert Ungle in his stead.

Return to Maryland Government, Historical List

This web site is presented for reference purposes under the doctrine of fair use. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: The site may contain material from other sources which may be under copyright. Rights assessment, and full originating source citation, is the responsibility of the user.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

© Copyright May 27, 2009Maryland State Archives