Archives of Maryland
Historical List
Royal Assembly of 1708b - 1711

First Session: November 29, 1708 - December 17, 1708
Second Session: October 26, 1709 - November 11, 1709
Third Session: October 24, 1710 - November 4, 1710
Fourth Session: October 23, 1711 - November 3, 1711

Edward C. Papenfuse, et al., Archives of Maryland, Historical List, new series, Vol. 1. Annapolis, MD: Maryland State Archives, 1990.
Edward C. Papenfuse, et al., A Biographical Dictionary of the Maryland Legislature, 1635-1789, Vols. 1&2.  Annapolis, MD: Maryland State
Archives, 1985.

a - appointed; c - Council (Upper House); d - died; dcl - declined; dns - did not serve; ds - dismissed; e - elected; ev - election voided;
pres - president of the Senate; pres p. t. - president pro tem of the Senate; psa - post-session appointment; psd - post-session death;
psr - post-session resignation; r - resigned; s - suspended; spkr - speaker of the House; spkr p.t. - speaker pro tem of the House;
(D) - Democrat; (R) - Republican.

Edward Lloyd,1 President of the Upper House
Robert Bradley, Speaker of the Lower House
Upper House
Francis Jenkins, d-31
Edward Lloyd, pres1
William Holland
Thomas Ennalls
William Coursey
Robert Quarry2
Samuel Young
Thomas Greenfield
Philip Lynes, d-2
Charles Greenberry, a-2
John Hall, a-2
William Whittington, a-2
Thomas Addison, a-3
Richard Tilghman, a-4
John Dorsey, a-4
Philemon Lloyd, a-4

Lower House
Wornell Hunt, ds-2, e-24
Thomas Bordley
Anne Arundel County
Richard Jones
Charles Greenberry, c-2
Daniel Mariatee
Joseph Hill
John Brice, e-2, ev5
Charles Hammond, e-3
Baltimore County
James Maxwell
James Phillips
Aquila Paca
Richard Colegate
Calvert County
Walter Smith, d-4
John Mackall
Robert Skinner
Nathaniel Dare
Cecil County6
Matthias Vanderheyden
John Ward, s-3
Edward Larramore, d-4
Thomas Frisby
Henry Ward, e-4
Charles County
James Smallwood
William Wilkinson
Thomas Crabb
Walter Storey
Dorchester County6
Hugh Eccleston, d-4
Roger Woolford, s-3
Joseph Ennalls, d-2
Walter Campbell
John Hudson, e-3
Thomas Hicks, e-3
Kent County
Daniel Pearce
Thomas Covington, d-2
Edward Bathurst, dns, d-27
John Carvile, dns, d-27
Thomas Ringgold, e-3, d-4
Edward Scott, e-4
Prince George's County
Robert Bradley, spkr
Robert Tyler
John Bradford
Philip Lee
Queen Anne's County
John Salter
John Whittington
Solomon Wright
Philemon Hemsley, s-4
St. Mary's County
John Coode, ds-18
Thomas Trueman Greenfield
Henry Peregrine Jowles
Joshua Gilbert
James Bowles, e-3
Somerset County
John West
George Gale
Samuel Worthington
John Franklyn
Talbot County
Thomas Smithson
Nicholas Lowe
Robert Ungle
Thomas Robins

1. Although Jenkins was the senior councilor at the time of Governor Seymour's death in 1709, his colleagues argued that he had relinguished his right to the presidency of the Council by "not taking any notice of the Government after the Govemour's death." The other councilors made Edward Lloyd, next in seniority, the president and thus the chief executive officer of the colony for the next five years.

2. Quarry served only briefly in the second and third sessions of this Assembly.

3. The delegates from Annapolis were not seated at the first session until the bill on the Annapolis charter had passed the Assembly.

4. Dismissed from the second session because he had not met the three-year residency requirement when he was first elected in November 1708; that requirement had been satisfied by October 1709, and he was immediately reelected to the same seat.

5. Election to the second session was voided because the sheriff denied a legally demanded poll by voters supporting Charles Hammond, who was subsequently elected to fill this seat at the third session.

6. Neither the Cecil County nor the Dorchester County delegation attended the first session.

7. Both Bathurst and Carvile were absent from the first session and died before the second session convened.

8. Dismissed from the first session, because as a man once in holy orders he was ineligible to sit in the Assembly.

Return to Maryland Government, Historical List

This web site is presented for reference purposes under the doctrine of fair use. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: The site may contain material from other sources which may be under copyright. Rights assessment, and full originating source citation, is the responsibility of the user.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

© Copyright May 27, 2009Maryland State Archives