Archives of Maryland
Historical List
Cecil County
Registers of Wills

The Register of Wills oversees the administration of estates. The position was created by the Constitution of 1776, and replaced the Deputy Commissary who had overseen local probate matters under the colonial government.

See also Deputy Commissaries of Cecil County, 1692-1777.

1777 John Veazey
1777-1813 David Smith
1813-1816 William Alexander
1816-1844 Henry D. Miller
1844-1845 William H. Gilpen
1845-1852 George R. Howard
1852-1856 James H. Jamar
1856-1857 Reuben D. Jamar
1857-1863 James McCauley
1863-1867 Chalkely B. Cutler
1867-1878 Reuben D. Jamar [1]
1878-1879 Reuben E. Jamar
1879-1884 Henry D. Miller [2]
1884-1903 Reuben E. Jamar
1903-1915 Thomas B. Miller
1915-1921 Rufus D. Bowland
1921-1934 Robert J. McCauley
1934-1942 Jesse E. Pierson
1942-1954 W. Andrew Seth
1954-1966 Bessie C. Hartnett
1966-1982 Ruth H. Towler
1982-1990 Lilian D. Rodgers
1990-1998 R. Sandra Tamargo
1998-2014 Allyn Price Nickle
2014-2018 Michael W. Dawson
2018-present Allyn Price Nickle

1. Reuben D. Jamar died on December 1, 1878, and Reuben E. Jamar was appointed in his place.
2. Henry D. Miller died on February 23, 1884, and Reuben E. Jamar was appointed in his place.

CECIL COUNTY REGISTER OF WILLS (Orphans Court Proceedings) 1798-1955, MSA C640 and MSA CM359
CECIL COUNTY REGISTER OF WILLS (Administration Bonds) 1674-1867, MSA C589
GOVERNOR AND COUNCIL (Commission Record) 1726-1837, MSA S1080
Maryland Manual

Return to Maryland Government, Historical List

This web site is presented for reference purposes under the doctrine of fair use. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: The site may contain material from other sources which may be under copyright. Rights assessment, and full originating source citation, is the responsibility of the user.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

Copyright February 08, 2019Maryland State Archives