Alexander Williams Jr., Chair (chosen by Governor, Senate President, & House Speaker)

Appointed by Governor: Gary W. McLhinney; Alicia Lynn Wilson, Esq.

Appointed by Senate President: Ashiah S. Parker; James N. Robey.

Appointed by House Speaker: Sean R. Malone, Esq.; Inez C. Robb.

Staff: Matthew B. Jackson; Jameson D. Lancaster; Shirleen M. Pilgrim; Claire E. Rossmark; Kenneth B. Weaver.

[photo, Legislative Services Building, 1st floor stairwell, 90 State Circle, Annapolis, Maryland] c/o Department of Legislative Services
Legislative Services Building, 90 State Circle, Annapolis, MD 21401
(410) 946-5510, (301) 970-5510

Legislative Services Building, 1st floor stairwell, 90 State Circle (from Lawyers Mall), Annapolis, Maryland, January 2018. Photo by Diane F. Evartt.

In May 2018, the Commission to Restore Trust in Policing was authorized by the General Assembly (Chapter 753, Acts of 2018).

The Commission reviewed the operations of the Gun Trace Task Force of the Baltimore City Police Department. Created in 2007 as an elite unit charged with pursuing violent criminals and other persons illegally possessing and using guns, nearly all the Task Force's members were indicted and charged with crimes of their own in 2017. The Commission scrutinized the Task Force's establishment, personnel, and oversight, as well as its investigations and the cases it handled.

Based on its own findings and the 2017 federal Consent Decree among the City of Baltimore, the Baltimore City Police Department, and the U.S. Department of Justice, the Commission made recommendations concerning whether the Baltimore City Police Department needs to be reorganized, and the options for reorganization; which best practices should be used to establish and oversee specialized elite units within law enforcement agencies; continuation of State and Baltimore City oversight of the Baltimore City Police Department; legal obstacles to the effective management and discipline of Police Department officers; and any other relevant findings.

The Commission was authorized to conduct hearings, administer oaths and affirmations, issue subpoenas, and issue process to compel the appearance of witnesses and production of evidence.

Authorization for the Commission ended January 15, 2021.

Maryland Constitutional Offices & Agencies
Maryland Departments
Maryland Independent Agencies
Maryland Executive Commissions, Committees, Task Forces, & Advisory Boards
Maryland Universities & Colleges
Maryland Counties
Maryland Municipalities
Maryland at a Glance

Maryland Manual On-Line

Search the Manual

This web site is presented for reference purposes under the doctrine of fair use. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: The site may contain material from other sources which may be under copyright. Rights assessment, and full originating source citation, is the responsibility of the user.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

Copyright February 22, 2024 Maryland State Archives