Following the practice of the English House of Commons, the Lower House of Maryland's General Assembly began to use standing committees in the seventeenth century. Though membership would change, the functions of these standing committees continued from year to year. In 1692, the Lower House (predecessor of today's House of Delegates) formed four standing committees. These first committees concerned Accounts; Aggrievances; Elections and Privileges; and Laws. They were responsible for considering all proposed laws on a given subject. Any bills relating to their assigned subject matter received committee review before any final action on the floor.

To review proposed legislation today, the House of Delegates has six standing committees: Appropriations; Economic Matters; Environmental Matters; Health and Government Operations; Judiciary; and Ways and Means. Two additional standing committees, assigned other duties, are Rules and Executive Nominations, and Consent Calendars.

House of Delegates
General Assembly
Legislative Committees
Legislative Process
Maryland Government
Maryland Universities & Colleges
Maryland Counties
Maryland Municipalities
Maryland at a Glance

Maryland Manual On-Line

Search the Manual

This web site is presented for reference purposes under the doctrine of fair use. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: The site may contain material from other sources which may be under copyright. Rights assessment, and full originating source citation, is the responsibility of the user.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

[ Archives' Home Page  ||  Maryland Manual On-Line  ||  Reference & Research
||  Search the Archives   ||  Education & Outreach  ||  Archives of Maryland Online ]

Governor     General Assembly    Judiciary     Maryland.Gov

Copyright September 29, 2015 Maryland State Archives