clear space clear space clear space white space
 r c h i v e s   o f   M a r y l a n d   O n l i n e

PLEASE NOTE: The searchable text below was computer generated and may contain typographical errors. Numerical typos are particularly troubling. Click “View pdf” to see the original document.

  Maryland State Archives | Index | Help | Search
search for:
clear space
white space
The Constitution of the State of Maryland, 1864
Volume 666, Page 51   View pdf image (33K)
 Jump to  
clear space clear space clear space white space

Art. 4.] State of Maryland. 49

Sec. 23. The Court of Appeals shall appoint its own
Clerk, who shall hold his office for six years, and may be
re-appointed at the end thereof; he shall be subject to
removal by the said Court for incompetency, neglect of
duty, misdemeanor in office, or such other cause or causes
as may be prescribed by law.

Clerk to be ap-

Part III.�Circuit Courts.

Sec. 24. The State shall be divided into thirteen Judi-
cial Circuits, in manner following: The Counties of St.
Mary's and Charles shall constitute the First Circuit; the
Counties of Anne Arundel and Calvert, the Second; the
Counties of Prince George's and Montgomery, the Third ;
the County of Frederick, the Fourth; the County of
Washington, the Fifth; the County of Allegany, the
Sixth; the Counties of Carroll and Howard, the Seventh;
the County of Baltimore, the Eighth; the Counties of
Harford and Cecil, the Ninth; the Counties of Kent and
Queen Anne's, the Tenth; the Counties of Talbot and
Caroline, the Eleventh; the Counties of Dorchester,
Somerset and Worcester, the Twelfth; and the city of
Baltimore, the Thirteenth.

Thirteen Judicial

Sec. 25. One Court shall be held in each county of the
State; the said Courts shall be called Circuit Courts for
the county in which they may be held, and shall have and

One Court in each

exercise all the power, authority and jurisdiction, original
and appellate, which the present Circuit Courts of this
State how have and exercise, or which may hereafter be
prescribed by law.

Its Jurisdiction.

1852, ch. 16, 31, 73,
111, 136, 219, 336,
and 344.

1853, ch. 181, 238,

Sec. 26. For each Circuit (the Thirteenth excepted)
there shall be one Judge, who shall be styled Circuit
Judge, who, during his term of office, shall reside in one
of the counties composing the Circuit for which he may be
elected; the said Judges shall hold a term of their Courts
in each of the counties composing their respective Circuits
at such times as now are or may hereafter be fixed by law,

One Judge for each

such terms to be never less than two in each year in each
county; special terms may be held by said Judges in their

Two Terms in
each year.

clear space
clear space
white space

Please view image to verify text. To report an error, please contact us.
The Constitution of the State of Maryland, 1864
Volume 666, Page 51   View pdf image (33K)
 Jump to  

This web site is presented for reference purposes under the doctrine of fair use. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: The site may contain material from other sources which may be under copyright. Rights assessment, and full originating source citation, is the responsibility of the user.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

An Archives of Maryland electronic publication.
For information contact

©Copyright  October 11, 2023
Maryland State Archives