clear space clear space clear space white space
A
 r c h i v e s   o f   M a r y l a n d   O n l i n e
  Maryland State Archives | Index | Help | Search search for:
clear space
white space
Session Laws, 1959
Volume 642, Page 1334   View pdf image (33K)
 Jump to  
  << PREVIOUS  NEXT >>
clear space clear space clear space white space

1334                            laws of Maryland                       [Ch. 803

OF RESEARCH AND EDUCATION AND RECOMMENDED FOR
ADOPTION TO THE LATTER AGENCY.

(e)  Dealer's License.Only a person, who has been a bona fide
resident of this State for one year, and no other, may deal in the
business of buying and selling, shipping and marketing soft shell
clams taken from the waters of this State, and the Commission of
Tidewater Fisheries shall make provision for the licensing of any
such person who so desires to become such a dealer; provided, how-
ever, that such license shall be valid only for the calendar year in
which issued and that the fee therefor shall be Twenty-five Dollars
($25.00).

(f)   Revocation and Suspension of Licenses. Any provisions
adopted by the Commission of Tidewater Fisheries for the revocation
and suspension of any hydraulic, mechanical or other dredge license,
dealer's or other soft shell clam license, shall be premised on the
grounds of (1) the making of any materially false statement in the
application for such license and (2) the conviction of the licensee or
his agents of any violation of the provisions of this sub-title or of
the rules and regulations of the Commission of Tidewater Fisheries.

(g)  Inspection Tax.An inspection tax of not less than Ten Cents
(10) nor more than Twenty-five Cents (25) per United States
Standard bushel is hereby levied upon all soft shell clams caught
within the limits of this County.

(h) Buying Stations.The Commission of Tidewater Fisheries
shall establish "Buying Stations" at such locations as it may deem
necessary, where all soft shell clams caught or taken in Kent County
shall be landed, and at no other place, and where the Inspection Tax,
imposed by Sub-section (g), shall be collected by its Inspectors from
each licensed dealer to cover the number of bushels of soft shell
clams purchased by him, and each such dealer shall be liable for the
payment of such tax. It shall be unlawful to ship soft shell clams,
in the shell, out of the State except under a permit granted by the
Commission of Tidewater Fisheries which shall be obtainable, only
at an established "Buying Station", separately for each cargo, truck
load, or other consignment. Any person violating any provision of
this sub-section or any pertinent rule or regulation of the Commis-
sion of Tidewater Fisheries shall be deemed guilty of a misdemeanor
and upon conviction thereof shall be fined not less than $500.00; and
in addition thereto, at the discretion of the Court hearing the case,
any boat, dredge or other device, truck, trailer or any other thing
appurtenant thereto, used in connection with violation of this sub-
section may be declared forfeited to the State of Maryland and de-
livered to the Commission of Tidewater Fisheries, for such dis-
position thereof as, in the opinion of said Commission, may be most
advantageous to the State.

(i) License to Use Gear Other Than Hydraulic, Mechanical or
Other Dredge.
Any person desiring to take or catch soft shell clams
for sale from the waters of Kent County with devices other than
hydraulic, mechanical or other dredge, as set out in Section 651 (a)
of this Article, shall first obtain a license therefor from the Clerk
of the Circuit Court of Kent County wherein said person shall re-
side. The applicant shall pay the sum of Two Dollars and Fifty
Cents ($2.50) for such license and, in addition thereto, Twenty-five


 

clear space
clear space
white space

Please view image to verify text. To report an error, please contact us.
Session Laws, 1959
Volume 642, Page 1334   View pdf image (33K)
 Jump to  
  << PREVIOUS  NEXT >>


This web site is presented for reference purposes under the doctrine of fair use. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: The site may contain material from other sources which may be under copyright. Rights assessment, and full originating source citation, is the responsibility of the user.


Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!



An Archives of Maryland electronic publication.
For information contact mdlegal@mdarchives.state.md.us.

©Copyright  August 02, 2018
Maryland State Archives