clear space clear space clear space white space
 r c h i v e s   o f   M a r y l a n d   O n l i n e

PLEASE NOTE: The searchable text below was computer generated and may contain typographical errors. Numerical typos are particularly troubling. Click “View pdf” to see the original document.

  Maryland State Archives | Index | Help | Search
search for:
clear space
white space
The Counties of Maryland
Volume 630, Page 92   View pdf image (33K)
 Jump to  
clear space clear space clear space white space

508                           THE COUNTIES OF MARYLAND

porary line was only a short distance north of the Mason and Dixon line
as finally established may have led to the inadvertent use of the term
which had been a familiar, popular phrase to indicate the State boundary
for more than a generation.


1798  Ch. 115. County divided into 5 election districts.

1799  Ch. 48. Confirms Acts of 1798 Ch. 115.

1799 Ch. 50. Commission appointed to divide county into 5 election dis-
1816 Ch. 36. Polling place of 1st election district changed to Abingdon.

1821  Ch. 214. Polling place of the 2d election district changed to Hall's

Cross Road.

1822  Ch. 51. Polling place of the 4th election district changed to Samuel

Marshall's new house.

1826 Ch. 41. Line between Hall's Cross Roads and Belle Air districts

" Beginning at the point where the new road from Rock
Run Bridge intersects the original line, thence running
with the said new road to Quarry Run, thence down said
run until it again intersects the original district line at
Coxe's mill, and from thence with the original line to the
place of beginning" ....... annexed to Belle Air district.

1830 Ch. 26. Lines changed between the 2d, 3d, and 5th election districts
so that

" that part of Harford County which lies between Deer
Creek and the road that leads on the southern side of said
creek, from William Willson's mill-dam by Joshua Hus-
band's tan-yard to Priestford Bridge shall henceforth cease
to be included in the second and third election districts,
and the same is hereby declared to be included in and
made part of the fifth election district in said county."

1842 Ch. 139. Erects Havre de Grace (defined by 1839 Ch. 267 and 1840 Ch,
64) as a new or 6th election district.

1876 Ch. 154. Calls for division into election precincts, as required.

1884 Ch. 20. Divides 1st election district into two election precincts.

" That the county commissioners of Harford county be
and they are hereby authorized and directed to divide
and lay out the first election district of Harford county,
commonly called Abingdon district, into two election pre-
cincts, in such manner as in their judgement the public
may require ....... "

1898 Ch. 201. Authorizes supervisors to divide election districts into elec-
tion precincts.

1906 Ch. 547. Redefines Baltimore-Harford County line. See Baltimore


clear space
clear space
white space

Please view image to verify text. To report an error, please contact us.
The Counties of Maryland
Volume 630, Page 92   View pdf image (33K)
 Jump to  

This web site is presented for reference purposes under the doctrine of fair use. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: The site may contain material from other sources which may be under copyright. Rights assessment, and full originating source citation, is the responsibility of the user.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

An Archives of Maryland electronic publication.
For information contact

©Copyright  October 10, 2023
Maryland State Archives