clear space clear space clear space white space
 r c h i v e s   o f   M a r y l a n d   O n l i n e

PLEASE NOTE: The searchable text below was computer generated and may contain typographical errors. Numerical typos are particularly troubling. Click “View pdf” to see the original document.

  Maryland State Archives | Index | Help | Search
search for:
clear space
white space
Journal of the House of Delegates, 1805
Volume 553, Page 2   View pdf image (33K)
 Jump to  
clear space clear space clear space white space

TUESDAY, November 5, 1805.

MONDAY, the fourth instant, being the day appointed by the constitution and form of government for the
meeting of the general assembly of this state, several of the members of this house accordingly met on that day,
but a sufficient number of members to proceed to business not appearing, the house adjourned until to-day, when
the following members appeared, viz.

For SAINT-MARY'S county.
Mr, John Leigh.
KENT county.
Mr. Cornelius Hurtt,
Mr. William Gale.
Mr. Richard Merriken,

Mr. James C. Hyland.
Mr. Solomon Frazier,
Mr. Joseph Ennalls,
Mr. George Ward,
Mr. John Smoot.

HARFORD county.
Mr. John Montgomery.
CAROLINE county.
Mr. Peregrine F. Bayard,
Mr. White Turpin,
Mr. Alemby Jump.

Mr. John F. Mercer,

CAECIL county.


Mr. Joshua C. Higgins.
CHARLES county.

Mr. John L. Porter.

Mr. Andrew Ellicott, junior,
Mr. John Stephen.

Mr. Philip Stuart,

Mr. Archibald Van-Horn,


Mr. George D. Parnham,

Mr. Francis M. Hall,

Mr. John Bowles,

Mr. William H. McPherson,

Mr. Alexander Contee,

Mr. Robert Smith,

Mr. Henry H. Chapman.

Mr. Henry A. Callis.

Mr. William Yates.

Mr. Amos Ogden,
Mr. Alexis Lemmon,
Mr. George Harryman.
TALBOT county.
Mr. Thomas S. Denny,

Mr. John Muir,
Mr. Arthur Shaaff.
QUEEN-ANNE'S county.
Mr. Joseph H. Nicholson, junior.

Mr. William Carroll,
Mr. Brice Selby,
Mr. Richard Key Watts,

Mr. Edward Lloyd,


ALLEGANY county.

Mr. Solomon Dickinson.

Mr. Thomas Hawkins,

Mr. Benjamin Tomlinson,

SOMERSET county.

Mr. Joab Waters,

Mr. George Rizer,

Mr. George W. Jackson,

Mr. Henry Kuhn.

Mr. Thomas Cresap.

A sufficient number of delegates being convened, they severally qualified in the presence of each other, by

taking the several oaths required by the constitution and form of government, by subscribing a declaration of

their belief in the christian religion, and by taking, repeating and subscribing, the oath to support the consti-
tution of the United States.

WEDNESDAY, November 6, 1805.

THE same members met as on yesterday, who proceeded to ballot for a speaker, and the ballots being depo-
sited in the ballot box. on examination thereof it appeared, that Archibald Van-Horn, Esquire, was elected.

Mr. Benjamin Hanson, a delegate returned for Kent county, Mr. Lloyd Dorsey, a delegate returned for
Anne-Arundel county, Mr. William Gleaves, a delegate returned for Queen-Anne's county, Mr. Tench Ring-
gold, a delegate returned for Washington county, appeared, and after qualifying in the mode prescribed by the
constitution and form of government, and taking an oath to support the constitution of the United States, took
their seats in the house.

The house proceeded to ballot for a clerk; the ballots being deposited in the ballot box, the gentlemen named

to strike retired, and after sometime returned and reported, that Mr. John Brewer was elected. ORDERED,

That he be qualified as such, by taking the several oaths required, by subscribing a declaration of his belief in


clear space
clear space
white space

Please view image to verify text. To report an error, please contact us.
Journal of the House of Delegates, 1805
Volume 553, Page 2   View pdf image (33K)
 Jump to  

This web site is presented for reference purposes under the doctrine of fair use. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: The site may contain material from other sources which may be under copyright. Rights assessment, and full originating source citation, is the responsibility of the user.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

An Archives of Maryland electronic publication.
For information contact

©Copyright  October 10, 2023
Maryland State Archives