clear space clear space clear space white space
 r c h i v e s   o f   M a r y l a n d   O n l i n e

PLEASE NOTE: The searchable text below was computer generated and may contain typographical errors. Numerical typos are particularly troubling. Click “View pdf” to see the original document.

  Maryland State Archives | Index | Help | Search
search for:
clear space
white space

Volume 466, Page 7   View pdf image (33K)
 Jump to  
clear space clear space clear space white space



The Hall of Records Commission is an ex officio body created by
Chapter 18 of the Acts of 1935 to collect and preserve the historical
records of Maryland and to encourage research and investigation in the
history of the Province and State. Since passage of this Act, additional
responsibilities and duties have been assigned to the Hall of Records
Commission and thus to the staff of the Hall of Records: to administer
the Records Management Program for State and county governmental
agencies; to compile and distribute the MARYLAND MANUAL; and
to supervise the microfilming of current land records for use by the
Land Office and the State Department of Assessments and Taxation.
The Hall of Records has been made a depository for all publications of
State Agencies, and its staff microfilms the Proceedings of the General
Assembly at the close of each legislative day. The Hall of Records Com-
mission acts as the historical agency of the State. It participates in the
planning and conduct of historical celebrations, the restoration of monu-
ments and houses and the search for historical data necessary for the
conduct of the State's business. (Annotated Code of Public General
Laws of Maryland, 1957 and 1962 Cumulative Supplement, Article 41,
Sees. 104, 144, 171-81; Article 54, Sec. 52.)

The members of the Hall of Records Commission for fiscal year
1964 and the offices which entitle them to membership were as follows:

Chief Judge, Court of Appeals of Maryland:

HONORABLE FREDERICK W. BRUNE, Chairman....... Baltimore

President of St. John's College:

DR. RICHARD D. WEIGLE, Vice Chairman........... Annapolis

Governor of Maryland:

HONORABLE J. MILLARD TAWES...................Annapolis

Comptroller of the Treasury:

HONORABLE LOUIS L. GOLDSTEIN.............Prince Frederick

President of the Maryland Historical Society:

HONORABLE GEORGE L. RADCLIFFE................Baltimore

President of The Johns Hopkins University:

DR. MILTON S. EISENHOWER .................... Baltimore

President of the Peabody Institute:

JOHN M. NELSON, JR., ESQ.......................Baltimore


clear space
clear space
white space

Please view image to verify text. To report an error, please contact us.

Volume 466, Page 7   View pdf image (33K)
 Jump to  

This web site is presented for reference purposes under the doctrine of fair use. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: The site may contain material from other sources which may be under copyright. Rights assessment, and full originating source citation, is the responsibility of the user.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

An Archives of Maryland electronic publication.
For information contact

©Copyright  October 06, 2023
Maryland State Archives