clear space clear space clear space white space
 r c h i v e s   o f   M a r y l a n d   O n l i n e

PLEASE NOTE: The searchable text below was computer generated and may contain typographical errors. Numerical typos are particularly troubling. Click “View pdf” to see the original document.

  Maryland State Archives | Index | Help | Search
search for:
clear space
white space
The Maryland Board of Public Works: A History by Alan M. Wilner
Volume 216, Page 126   View pdf image (33K)
 Jump to  
clear space clear space clear space white space

Appendix A.

Commissioners of Public Works
and Members of the Board of
Public Works, 1825-28, 1851-1982


1825-1828 Samuel Stevens, Jr., Governor William Howard
Thomas Buchanan E. F. Chambers
Richard Potts Robert H. Goldsborough
Robert W. Bowie Littleton Dennis
Isaac M'Kim


1851-54 John S. Gittings William P. Ponder

Charles R. Stewart John R. Franklin, president

1854-55 Joshua R. Nelson Moore N. Falls

Charles R. Stewart, president Samuel Chamberlain

1856-57 Moore N. Falls, president Joshua R. Nelson
George Peter Benjamin Lankford

1857-59 Henry R. Reynolds, president George Peter

Frederick Schley Benjamin Lankford

1860-61 Lemuel Roberts, president Frederick Schley
Nathaniel Duke Henry R. Reynolds

1861-63 Lemuel Roberts, president Edward Shriver

Nathaniel Duke Frederick Fickey, Jr.

1863-64 Edward Shriver, president Frederick Fickey, Jr.
E. J. Hall Andrew Mclntire


Governor Comptroller Treasurer

1864-67 Augustus W. Bradford Robert J. Jump Robert Fowler
1867-69 Thomas Swarm William J. Leonard Robert Fowler
1869-72 Oden Bowie William J. Leonard, 1869-70 Robert Fowler, 1869-70

Levin Woolford John Merryman

1872-74 William Pinkney Whyte Levin Woolford John W. Davis
1874-76 James B. Groome Levin Woolford Barnes Compton
1876-80 John Lee Carroll Levin Woolford, 1876-78 Barnes Compton

Thomas J. Keating
1880-84 William T. Hamilton Thomas J. Keating Barnes Compton

1884-85 Robert M. McLane J. Frank Turner Barnes Compton

1885-88 Henry Lloyd J. Frank Turner John S. Gittings, 1885-86

Stevenson Archer

1888-92 Elihu E. Jackson L. Victor Baughman Stevenson Archer, 1888-90

Edwin H. Brown

1892-96 Frank Brown Marion deKalb Smith Spencer C. Jones

1896-1900 Lloyd Lowndes Robert P. Graham, 1896-98 Thomas J. Shryock

Phillips Lee Goldsborough


clear space
clear space
white space

Please view image to verify text. To report an error, please contact us.
The Maryland Board of Public Works: A History by Alan M. Wilner
Volume 216, Page 126   View pdf image (33K)
 Jump to  

This web site is presented for reference purposes under the doctrine of fair use. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: The site may contain material from other sources which may be under copyright. Rights assessment, and full originating source citation, is the responsibility of the user.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

[ Archives' Home Page  ||  Maryland Manual On-Line  ||  Reference & Research
||  Search the Archives   ||  Education & Outreach  ||  Archives of Maryland Online ]

Governor     General Assembly    Judiciary     Maryland.Gov

An Archives of Maryland electronic publication.
For information contact

©Copyright  August 01, 2018
Maryland State Archives