clear space clear space clear space white space
 r c h i v e s   o f   M a r y l a n d   O n l i n e

PLEASE NOTE: The searchable text below was computer generated and may contain typographical errors. Numerical typos are particularly troubling. Click “View pdf” to see the original document.

  Maryland State Archives | Index | Help | Search
search for:
clear space
white space
Laws of Maryland 1785-1791
Volume 204, Page 47   View pdf image (33K)
 Jump to  
clear space clear space clear space white space


                                LAWS of MARYLAND.

for Kent county, Messieurs Richard Miller, William Maxwell, junior,
Nathaniel Comegys, Simon Wickes, (Chester-town) and Robert Buchanan;
for Anne-Arundel county, Messieurs John Weems, Edward
Gaither, junior, William Hall, the third, John Brice, and Richard Harwood,
junior; for Calvert county, Messieurs Daniel Rawlings, Joseph
Blake, Joseph Wilkinson, Thomas Mackall, and Frederick Skinner; for
Charles county, Messieurs Richard Barnes, Thomas Harris, Hoskin Hanson,
Gerard Blackiston Causin, and Henry Barnes; for Baltimore county,
Messieurs Benjamin Rogers, Darby Lux, Samuel Owings, Samuel Worthington,
and William Maccubbin; for Talbot county, Messieurs Thomas
Sherwood, Samuel Chamberlaine, Peregrine Tilghman, Henry Banning,
and William Goldsborough; for Somerset county, Messieurs William
Gillis, John Williams, Ezekiel Gillis, Levin Handy, and Lambert
Hyland; for Dorchester county, Messieurs Robert Harrison, Henry
Hooper, Q. S. Joseph Ennalls, John Goldsborough, and Robertson Stevens;
for Cæcil county, Messieurs Samuel Gilpin, Samuel Veazy, James
Evans, Stephen Hyland, and Robert Porter, (North-Susquehanna); for
Prince-George's county, Messieurs John Contee, Robert Darnall, David
Craufurd, Clement Hill, and Samuel Hepburn; for Queen-Anne's county,
Messieurs Aquila Brown, Richard Tilghman Earle, John Brown, Arthur
Emory, and Edward Downes; for Worcester county, Messieurs Thomas
Martin, John Selby, Thomas Purnell of Thomas, Samuel Handy,
and William Handy; for Frederick county, Messieurs William Murdock
Beall, Thomas Hawkins, Peter Mantz, Joseph Simm, and George Scott;
for Harford county, Messieurs Thomas Johnson, William Wilson, Robert
Morgan, Jacob Norris, and William Smith, Bay-side; for Caroline county,
Messieurs Robert Postlewaite, Philemon Downes, Philip Walker,
Thomas Mason, and John White; for Washington county, Messieurs
Charles Swearengen, Alexander Clagett, William Good, Martin Kaisner,
and James Chapline; for Montgomery county, Messieurs Richard Brook,
Samuel Thomas the third, Richard Wootton, William Holmes, and
Allen Bowie; and the following persons shall be commissioners for
Baltimore-town and the precincts thereof, to wit:  Messieurs William
Spear, John Moale, William Goodin, Nicholas Rogers, and Thomas

Their oath.     IV.  And be it enacted, That every commissioner appointed, or to be
appointed, in virtue of this act, shall, before he acts as such, take the following
oath, (or affirmation as the case may be) to wit, " I, A. B. do
swear, or solemnly, sincerely, and truly declare and affirm, that as commissioner
for _____ county, or Baltimore-town and the precincts thereof
I will, to the best of my skill and judgment, execute the duties of the said
office diligently and faithfully, according to the directions of the act for
the valuation of personal property within this state, and the directions of
the act to ascertain the value of the land in the several counties of this
state for the purpose of laying the public assessment, without favour, affection
partiality; and that I will do equal right and justice, according
to the best of my knowledge, in every case in which I shall act as commissioner.
So help me God."
Exempt from
military duty,
    V.  And be it enacted, That every commissioner who shall take upon
himself the execution of this act, shall, during the time he shall act as
commissioner, be exempt from all military duty, and from serving on
any jury.
Penalty on refusing
to serve,
    VI.  And be it enacted, That if any person appointed commissioner of
the tax shall refuse to serve, or after qualifying as a commissioner, shall neglect
to act, not having a reasonable excuse in the judgment of the
county court of his county, he shall, for such refusal, or neglect after

clear space
clear space
white space

Please view image to verify text. To report an error, please contact us.
Laws of Maryland 1785-1791
Volume 204, Page 47   View pdf image (33K)
 Jump to  

This web site is presented for reference purposes under the doctrine of fair use. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: The site may contain material from other sources which may be under copyright. Rights assessment, and full originating source citation, is the responsibility of the user.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

An Archives of Maryland electronic publication.
For information contact

©Copyright  October 06, 2023
Maryland State Archives