clear space clear space clear space white space
 r c h i v e s   o f   M a r y l a n d   O n l i n e

PLEASE NOTE: The searchable text below was computer generated and may contain typographical errors. Numerical typos are particularly troubling. Click “View pdf” to see the original document.

  Maryland State Archives | Index | Help | Search
search for:
clear space
white space
Maryland Manual, 1996-97
Volume 187, Page 544   View pdf image (33K)
 Jump to  
clear space clear space clear space white space

education The School also teaches communica
tions skills, including speech and speech reading,
signs and finger spelling, and auditory training, and
the use of individual hearing aids It offers a broad
athletic and physical education program, as well as
social and recreational activities To help graduating
students secure employment, vocational or techni-
cal training, or higher education, vocational reha-
bilitation services are available
The Board of Trustees of the Maryland School
for the Deaf governs the School With Senate advice
and consent, the Governor appoints the Board's
nineteen members to six year terms (Code Educa-
tion Article, sec 8-304)


Chair Sue F Ward, Director on Aging

Appointed by Governor (who names chair) John E
Burleigh III, Mallory W Crawford, David E
Harmon, Elizabeth L Jones, Mary C (Cass)
Naugle Terms expire 1998

Ex officio Alvm C Collms, Secretary of Human
Resources, Martin P Wasserman, M D , J D ,
Secretary of Health & Mental Hygiene

Contact Ilene W Rosenthal

c/o Office on Aging
301 West Preston St, Room 1007
Baltimore. MD 21201 (410)767-1118

The Domiciliary Care Facilities Board was ere
ated by the Governor at the request of the General
Assembly in 1984 (Joint Resolution no 23, Acts of
1984) In 1986. the Board was established by law
(Chapter 726, Acts of 1986)

Because the Department of Health and Mental
Hygiene, the Department of Human Resources,
and the Office on Aging all license and regulate
domiciliary care facilities, the Board formulates and
implements pohcy and coordinates agency respon-
sibility The Board also reviews and approves poll
cics and regulations for domiciliary care facilities
and related programs Such facilities provide domi
ciliary, personal or nursing care to unrelated indi
viduals who rely on the facility for help with dally
activities in a safe and healthful environment

The Board has eight members Five are ap-
pointed to four-year terms by the Governor Three
serve ex officio The Governor names the chair
(Code 1957, Art 41, sec 10601)



H Lee Boatwright III, Chair, 2000

Appointed by Governor with Senate advice & consent
W Edwin Cole, Jr , 1998, Due Hong Duong,
1998, Louis Pohoryles, Esq , 1998, Richard J
Hopkins, 1999, Jerry C Lymas, 1999, Irving L
Kidwell, 1999, Judith Warfield Price, Esq , 2000,
Leonard R Sachs, 2000, Mano F VillaSanta, 2000

Ex officio James T Brady, Secretary of Business &
Economic Development, David L Winstead,
Secretary of Transportation

Hans F Mayer, Executive Director

36 South Charles St, Suite 2410
Baltimore, MD 21201 (410)625-0051

Established in 1984, the Maryland Economic
Development Corporation is a public instrumental
ity of the State (Chapter 498, Acts of 1984) The
Corporation enables the State to develop property
for economic purposes To serve the public interest,
the Corporation develops vacant or unused indus
trial sites and facilities and other economic re
sources in which the private sector has shown no
significant interest or development capability
The Corporation operates in economically dis
tressed areas of the State It helps State and local
economic development agencies expand, modern
ize, and retain businesses, and attract new ones
The Board of Directors is appointed by the
Governor with Senate advice and consent It con-
sists of twelve members, including two ex officio
voting members Members serve four year terms
With the Governor's approval, the Board appoints
the Executive Director (Code 1957, Art 83A, sees
5 101 through 5 116)


Harry D Shapiro, Esq , Chair

Representing Maryland Higher Education
Edward O Clarke, Jr , Osborne A
Payne, Charles B Saunders, Jr

Representing State Board of Education Christopher
T Cross, Christopher E Grant, Harry D Shapiro, Esq

Ex officio Nancy S Grasmick, Ph D , State
Superintendent of Schools, Patricia S Florestano,
Ph D , Secretary of Higher Education

Staff Robert C Rice, Ph D

c/o State Board of Education
200 West Baltimore St
Baltimore, MD 21201 (410) 767 0467



clear space
clear space
white space

Please view image to verify text. To report an error, please contact us.
Maryland Manual, 1996-97
Volume 187, Page 544   View pdf image (33K)
 Jump to  

This web site is presented for reference purposes under the doctrine of fair use. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: The site may contain material from other sources which may be under copyright. Rights assessment, and full originating source citation, is the responsibility of the user.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

An Archives of Maryland electronic publication.
For information contact

©Copyright  October 06, 2023
Maryland State Archives